RSS

on the younger generation

21 Jun

On Sunday, Taylor took me over to visit with his father’s family a few towns over.

Taylor’s father has been blessed with the task of raising two of his grandchildren, a pair of sweet, round-faced girls who are friendly and outgoing and love Taylor to pieces.  They’re about eleven and thirteen, and Very Much Adults.

As the barbecue got into full-swing, I found myself next to the thirteen year old  as she listened to her IPod.

Me: “Whatcha listening to?”

Her: “Skillet. Wanna hear?”

Me: “Sure!”

She offered me an earbud and we shared for a few minutes.  The song was kind of a faux-punk thing with lyrics about dying and pain and a beat you could really dance to.

Her: “My friend and I listen to this, and there’s a part where he goes ‘MOOONSTEEER’ but when he does it, he does it in a monster voice, so now my friend and I, her name is Ashley, now my friend and I all the time we’re like ‘MOOOONSTEEEER’ when we see each other.  It’s so funny.”

Me: “Neat song!  I like the chorus.”

Her: “Yeah? You like it?”

Me: “Sure!  It’s pretty good.  It kind of reminds me of Everclear.”

She looked at me blankly.

Her: “Uh. I don’t know them.”

Me: “Sure you do.  They do…uh…they do, ‘I will buy you a garden, where your flowers can grow!'”

Her: “No, I don’t know it.”

Me: “How about the AM Radio one? ‘AM Radioooo, AM Radioh-oh! You could hear the music on the AM Radioooo!'”

Her: “Nooo.  I don’t know who they are.”

Me: “Father Of Mine?  Like, ‘Father of mine, tell me where have you been, oh I just closed my eyes…’  No?  How about, ‘Everything is wonderful nooow…na na nana na na naaaa!'”

Her: “Oh, wait, I think I heard that once.  That’s like, an oldie, right?  From the 90’s?”

And then I fell over and broke my hip and died.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 21, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “on the younger generation

  1. Anonymous

    June 21, 2011 at 4:22 pm

    yep. sounds about right. …on the bright side, it’s a good way to keep the generation boundaries Very Clear.

     
  2. Adri Thegirlblogger

    June 21, 2011 at 4:23 pm

    Yes. Everclear songs are oldies and we are old fogeys. Scary isn’t it?

     
  3. Jen Hulme

    June 22, 2011 at 7:51 pm

    Oh. No.

     
  4. redrosesews

    June 25, 2011 at 11:24 am

    I love Skillet and Father of Mine! We play both at my school during art class, so I guess we’re between generations 😀
    P.S. I love your writing style and your comics are always insanely great!

     
  5. Ilde

    June 29, 2011 at 5:06 am

    Hahahahha I had such a good giggle now! I know exactly what that feels like. I also know a few young kids and when I told them excitedly about us going to watch Roxette when they came to South Africa (I grew up on Roxette tapes!), they just looked at me blankly. And they looked at me like I’d gone bonkers when I told them we got all kitted out in our 80s gear.

     

Leave a Reply

 
