RSS

Thorlike

18 May

On the phone with Mom and Dad:

Mom: “Oh, what was the thing you said yesterday?  The thing that Jess would get?”

Dad: “The thing that Jess would get?

Mom: “The Thor thing.  Or, it wasn’t Thor.  It was just like Thor.”

Me: “Was it a superhero thing?”

Mom: “Maybe it was a comic book thing.”

Dad: “Uhhh.  I don’t…uh….quite remember.”

Mom: “Well, he said something, and I didn’t get it, and he said, ‘Jess would get it.'”

Me: “Yeah, if it was a comic book thing I would have probably gotten it.”

Dad: “OH!  I remember!  It was…uh…”

Mom: “It was a comic book thing.’

Dad: “Uhh.  It was…oh, yeah!  Okay, so we were watching that show The Sorcerer’s Apprentice, and there’s the bad guy.”

Me: “Yeah, I saw it.”

Dad: “Yeah, and there’s the bad magic guy, and he’s trying to get the kid’s transcript, the good kid, y’know.  And he says, ‘You don’t need to see my identification-‘

Mom: “Yeah, that was it!”

Dad: “He says…he says, ‘You don’t need to see my identification-”

Me: “Oh, haha, yeah, like a Jedi.”

Dad: “YEAH!  THE JEDI!”

Mom: “And I just didn’t get it.”

Dad: “So the bad guy says, ‘You don’t need to see my identification’, and the kid goes, ‘These are not the droids you’re looking for!’ So I go and show it to Mom-”

Mom: “He thought I’d like it because it was kind of a faculty thing.”

Dad: “And the guy does it, and I’m laughing, and she just goes, ‘What?’  And I’m like, ‘These are not the droids you’re looking for!’ and Mom says, ‘They’re not adroit?’ and I say, ‘THESE ARE NOT THE DROIDS YOU’RE LOOKING FOR!’ and Mom says, ‘Troy?’ and I say, ‘THESE ARE NOT THE DROIDS YOU’RE LOOKING FOR!  IT’S STAR WARS!’ and Mom says, ‘Star Wars?'”

Mom: “I really didn’t know what he was talking about!  And he just threw up his hands and says, ‘Jess would know this!”

Me: “Well, yeah, Mom.  I mean…Taylor would know that.  That’s like, the most commonly used geek reference ever.  Obi-Wan Kenobi says that in the very first one.  A New Hope.”

Dad: “That’s what I’m saying!”

Me:  “I think the only reference used more commonly is ‘It’s a bird…it’s a plane!'”

Mom: “Well, I know that one.”

Me: “Good!  At least you got that one!”

Dad: “No, Jess, you have to double check.  She probably thinks it’s from Airplane or something.”

Mom: “Anyway, Dad thought you would get it.”

Me: “I do.”

Dad: “Good!”

Mom: “Now we’re going into Bi-Mart, so we have to talk to you later.”

Me: “That’s fine.  I have to shower and Taylor’s got to start cooking some fish and stuff.”

Dad: “Loveyabye.”

Mom: “Okaaaay!  Have a good night!  Have a good dinner!  Enjoy your shower!

Me: “Bye!”

Mom: “Love you!  Byyyye!”

Dad: “Loveyabye!”

Me: “Bye!”

Mom: “Bye!”

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 18, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Thorlike

  1. Clawmom

    May 18, 2011 at 6:10 pm

    I wouldn’t have gotten it either …but I did know it was a Star Wars thing!

     

Leave a Reply

 
