RSS

i am a crazy magnet

23 Mar

RING.  RING.

Me: “Thank you for calling [Jessica’s Work]!  This is Jessica.”

Them: “Yeah, I have a Dell from uhhhhhhh 2007?  And I turned the computer on?  But the monitor won’t work?”

Me: “Oh.  Um.  Are you trying to reach [Jessica’s Work]?”

Them: “Is this tech support?”

Me: “No, this is [Jessica’s Work].”

Them: “Is that…part of tech support?”

Me: “No, we’re in real estate.  Sorry.”

Them: “Oh.  Shit.  Well…see, this is just really a problem.  I uh…I really have to check my e-mail.”

Me: “I’m sorry to hear that.  Did you try calling Dell?”

Them: “Isn’t this Dell?”

Me: “No.  This is [Jessica’s Work], and we-”

Them: “Yeah, real estate, but is that like…Dell’s real estate branch?”

Me: “Um.  No.  I don’t think Dell…has a real estate branch.”

Them: “I thought they did.”

Me: “No, I don’t think so.”

Them: “I thought they were like Google.”

Me: “I don’t think Google sells real estate either, actually.”

Them: “Yes, they do.  I look for houses on Google all the time.”

Me: “Okay.  Well, uh, I’m sorry about your monitor, but-”

Them: “Don’t you have tech support that I can talk to?  I really really need to fix my monitor.”

Me: “Not really.  We’re sort of a small office.”

Them: “Is there anybody there that’s good with computers?”

Me: “I really…uh, think you should call Dell.”

Them: “I tried, and I got you.  This is a really big problem for me.  I really have to check my e-mail.  My friend is sending me something and they’re waiting for me to call them about it.”

Me: “I’m sorry.  There’s not a lot I can do.  If you want to buy a house, let us know, but we’re not a computer company.”

Them: “Well, what would you do?”

Me: “Me?”

Them: “Yeah.  I just need to try some stuff.”

Me: “Is the monitor…on?”

Them: “What do you mean?”

Me: “Is the monitor…turned on?  I really don’t know how else to say it.”

Them: “The monitor doesn’t have an on or off.  It just comes on when you turn the computer on.”

Me: “Is there a button you can push anywhere on the monitor?”

Them: “Yeah.”

Me: “Is there one with a circle and kind of like a line through it?”

Them: “Yeah.”

Me: “Maybe try pushing that.”

Them: “Oh my god.”

Me: “Did it work?”

Them: “Yes, what did that do?  Did you just reset my connection?”

Me: “It just turned the monitor on.  It sounds like it was off.”

Them: “That’s so weird.  Well, thanks.”

Me: “Uhh, no problem.”

Them: “My son must have screwed it up earlier.”

Me: “Yep.”

Them: “He always comes and screws up my computer.”

Me: “Huh.  Uhh, you know, I’m getting a call on the other line, so I have to go…good luck with your e-mail.”

Them: “Thanks!  I’ll call back if it does it again.”

Me: “Call Dell if it happens again.”

Them: “I did.”

Me: “Bye.”

Them: “Buh-bye.”

Me: *facepalm*

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 23, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “i am a crazy magnet

  1. Sally

    March 23, 2011 at 12:12 pm

    Oh lord. I just pulled something laughing at this.

     
  2. Millie

    March 23, 2011 at 3:48 pm

    If I were drinking anything, it would all over the monitor. That is PRICELESS.

     
  3. kateohkatie

    March 23, 2011 at 5:28 pm

    LOLOL holy crap that’s amazing.

    …you know he’s gonna keep calling you every time he has a problem, right?

     
  4. Alex

    March 23, 2011 at 7:59 pm

    Hah! “I tried, and I got you.” Now that’s hilarious. Nothing like a little misplaced determination to start your day off right, or end it as the case may be.

     
  5. Adri

    March 23, 2011 at 10:10 pm

    Oh.good.lord.

    You have the patience of a saint to make it that far into that conversation… I’m thankful… just so we could get this blog post out of it!

     
  6. Jen

    March 25, 2011 at 8:30 pm

    I think you’ll enjoy this:

    http://notalwaysright.com/

     

Leave a Reply

 
