RSS

____ my _____

02 Mar

Taylor: “That’s annoying.”

Me: “Yeah, I know, but what really gets my goat is-”

Taylor: “Wait, what?”

Me: “Uh, what really gets my goat is when people-”

Taylor: “No, wait.  That’s not a thing.”

Me: “What isn’t?”

Taylor: “‘Gets my goat?’  I have never ever heard that.”

Me: “What?  That’s ridiculous.  ‘Gets my goat’ is totally a thing.”

Taylor: “Is this a thing like you think ’round Robin Hood’s barn’ is a thing?”

Me: “First, that is a thing.  And second, no.  ‘Gets my goat’ is really widely used.”

Taylor: “By who?  You?”

Me: “By everybody!”

Taylor: “Everybody who?”

Me: “Well, I’ll have you know that it’s used as a lyric in a modern Disney movie, when Danny DeVito-”

Taylor: “Oh. I see.  I see where you got it now.”

Me: “THAT’S NOT WHERE I GOT IT I AM GIVING YOU AN EXAMPLE YOU CRETIN.”

Taylor: “What does it even mean?  Give me the etymology here.  What is the origin of ‘gets my goat’?”

Me: “It just means ‘I was really annoyed’.  It’s like…I don’t know the etymology.  Probably something about…someone stealing goats.  Goats are important!  Somebody getting your goat was probably really upsetting, back in the day.”

Taylor: “You have no idea where this comes from.  It is not a thing.”

Me: “IT IS A  THING.”

Taylor:  “Is it supposed to be like ‘grinds my gears’?”

Me: “WHAT?  That was just a stupid made-up phrase popularized by Family Guy.”

Taylor: “People said it before Family Guy.”

Me: “No, they didn’t!  They said, ‘gets my goat’.  That’s what they said.”

Taylor: “Yeah, in 1935, where you apparently live, oh my gosh where do you get this stuff.”

Me: “Google it.”

Taylor: “I can’t.  We’re in a parking lot.”

Me: “When we get home, Google it.  Google ‘gets my goat’, and you’ll see.”

Taylor: “You’re delusional.”

Me: “YOU’RE A PILL.”

Taylor: “Maybe.  At least I don’t think ‘gets my goat’ is a commonly used phrase.”

Me: “Whatever.  Not talking to you anymore.”

Taylor: “Why, because I don’t think that a phrase you made up is used by everybody?”

Me: “…”

Taylor: “Sorry, did I grind your gears there?”

Me: “AUUUUUUUUUUUUUGH.”

 
11 Comments

Posted by on March 2, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

11 responses to “____ my _____

  1. Marguerite

    March 2, 2011 at 3:11 am

    “gets my goat” is TOTALLY a well used phrase.

    i can vouch for popular usage in Ireland and the UK.

     
  2. Marguerite

    March 2, 2011 at 3:13 am

    i can’t vouch for the validity of this website, but it has explanations:
    http://www.phrases.org.uk/meanings/get-your-goat.html

     
  3. k8peterson

    March 2, 2011 at 3:36 am

    Haha. Click on this, and wait for about 2:50…

    In case you haven’t discovered it yet, this is a sample of “Chap Hop,” or hip-hop done in ridiculous over-the-top British accents. This particular tune is a challenge addressed from one of the two main Chap Hoppers to the other. It’s called “Fighting Trousers,” and if that doesn’t make you want to click on the link then you’re not the Jessica Bagley I once knew!

     
    • Jessica

      March 2, 2011 at 8:55 am

      Yes. I am going to go ahead and just send this to everybody I know.

       
      • k8peterson

        March 2, 2011 at 10:38 am

        “Cup of Brown Joy” is fabulous too. As lifelong Earl Grey addicts, my parents love it! I discovered these guys on my friends’ radio show, “The Coffee Show,” which you would LOVE. Witty banter and music like this; it’s so fabulous I actually stayed up to stream it online from 12-3 AM in Greece once. Take a listen at http://www.kglt.org/ some Wednesday from 2-5 PM your time!

         
    • Millie

      March 2, 2011 at 12:29 pm

      Oh, how I love the internet.

      Also, gets my goat is totally a phrase, and not just for refined English gentleman rappers.

       
  4. supesukauboi

    March 2, 2011 at 12:05 pm

    How can he not know the phrase “gets my goat”? Although I must say, Taylor certainly has some comedic styling there at the end.

     
  5. Clawmom

    March 2, 2011 at 12:41 pm

    ‘Round Robin Hood’s barn is where a wild goose chase takes you. Has Taylor heard of the wild goose chase?

     
  6. Jen

    March 2, 2011 at 10:32 pm

    http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Get%20Your%20Goat&defid=1855704

    AND, http://www.etymonline.com/index.php?l=g&p=15 shows that “get your goat” comes from 1910. I’m sorry your boyfriend is so uncultured. 😉

     
    • Jessica

      March 3, 2011 at 10:18 am

      Heh! He’s actually way more cultured than I am most of the time. He just had a brief lapse in judgment, is all! 😉

       
  7. Silvensis

    June 8, 2011 at 12:26 am

    I come late to this but thought I’d throw in that, yes, ‘gets my goat’ is very. very well known here in the UK (as previously mentioned). I’m also, actually, not 100% convinced that ‘grinds my gears’ wasn’t around before Family Guy – I’m moderately sure I’ve heard it used way before that; but the memory can do odd things, so I could be entirely wrong.

    Also, to k8peterson: Professor Elemental might be many things (massively entertaining easily being one of them), but I must pick you up, sir/madam, on your comment about his being a ‘ridiculously over-the-top’ British accent. As a matter of fact, his is a perfectly acceptable, quite widespread one; though it’s worth considering that there are a great many different ‘British accents’ (just as there is no one ‘American accent’) and they vary enormously.

     

Leave a Reply

 
