RSS

three hundred big boys

02 Feb

Taylor and I are rather scrupulous with our money.  That is to say, Taylor is rather scrupulous with our money, being that I struggle when asked to divide four by two.  I have seen the spreadsheet on his computer, a mammoth, colorcoded behemoth that sprawls across two of his computer monitors, with separate columns for monthly bills, student loans, savings, and abbreviations and initials that make little to no sense to me.

I’m content to let him handle it, as long as we aren’t broke and starving in the gutter.

And it seems as though we are not.

So, yesterday Taylor texted me at work to let me know that we had just received a windfall.  When we moved out of our old apartment, The Shithole, as we fondly refer to it now, we had sort of written off the deposit.  There were things in that carpet that would never be cleaned, refused to be cleaned.  There were creatures living in the hollows of the windows, and a fine colony of something growing in each closet.  Taylor made a heroic effort to get things up to snuff, but snuff in that place was basically, ‘not contracting the plague’.

So it was unbelievably exciting yesterday when we received a check in the mail for $300.  $300!  A beautiful shining $300 that we hadn’t factored into our savings, our budgeting, our misering.  Taylor announced that he thought we should do something fun and frivolous and completely idiotic with it.

I agreed.

Taylor and I are currently constructing a Fabulous List Of Wonder, detailing the things we could get with our $300.  Included is a coffee maker, a food processor, a weekend at the beach, and a Wii.

While discussing it last night, though, it became apparent that I was the only one approaching the issue systematically.

Me: “How about curtains?  We could get nice curtains for all the rooms.”

Taylor: “MATCHING TRACKSUITS.  ALL THE WAY.”

Me: “Or we could just get filet mignon for a month.”

Taylor: “SPINNING RIMS FOR YOUR DAD’S CAR.”

Me: “What if we go to that expensive restaurant we really like in Portland?  We could go there three times over with this!”

Taylor: “I WANT A LARGE NECKLACE WITH A DOLLAR SIGN ON IT.  I WILL WEAR IT TO CLASS.”

There is obviously still some negotiating to do.

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 2, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “three hundred big boys

  1. Melissa

    February 7, 2011 at 11:15 am

    Haha! Sounds familiar, since we’ll be getting our tax refund in a few days. For the last few weeks I’ve been giddy with excitement, and I’ve decided my first big splurge is going to be buying real makeup remover instead of just scrubbing my eyelashes with bar soap. Think of it, REAL eye makeup remover! Oh, and to go with this big purchase I’m also going to stock up on the JUMBO size cotton balls.

    PS Matching tracksuits WOULD be preeetty sweet

     

Leave a Reply

 
