RSS

nothing weekend

06 Dec

This is Taylor’s last week of school before the holiday break.

He’s spent the previous several days holed up in his office, typing furiously as his beard grows in and his eyes glaze over.  Every once in awhile he will decide to turn on some music to alleviate the stress, but as he focuses back in on grading student papers and finishing his own projects he forgets to switch songs and Alejandro or Money For Nothing will play for three and a half hours on loop.

It’s cute when he goes crazy like that.

After Friday, Taylor will be free, and by free I mean he can start blitzkrieging our worldly possessions into boxes in preparation for the upcoming move.  As December 23rd draws closer, I feel more and more panicked about the shelves of books and cupboards of dishes and couches and bed and desks and things things things that we are going to have to coordinate.  We are in an awkward pseudo-moving stage at the moment where it really is just a bit early to start packing, but we are reluctant to do anything that might inhibit the process later.

This weekend is going to be our last ‘free’ weekend for quite a while.

“What do you want to do with it?” Taylor asked last night while we lay in bed.

“Pack,” I said.  “Get a lot of packing done.”

Taylor wrinkled his nose in the dark.

“Save that for next week,” he said.  “I’ll be home with nothing to do.  I’ll do it then.  I’d rather just spend some time with you.  We should do…I don’t know.”

“Nothing,” I said.

“Yeah, that sounds nice.  Nothing.”

“Nothing all weekend.  We’ll just stay home.”

“Yeah!  Play a little Minecraft…”

“Maybe watch some Doctor Who.”

“Oh, right!  I owe you an episode after I promised I’d watch the other day and never got around to it.  That sounds good.  Let’s watch Doctor Who.”

“Snuggle on the couch.”

“Eat popcorn.”

“Yeah.”

“Yeah.”

“Okay.”

Now it is Monday, and I positively cannot wait for our Nothing Weekend.  All too soon we’ll be thrown into the busy-ness of a Christmas/Moving combo smackdown, so let’s enjoy our little freedoms while they last, shall we?

What is getting you through this week?  Anything you’re looking forward to?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 6, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “nothing weekend

  1. Heather

    December 6, 2010 at 4:49 pm

    Oh man. Moving is the worst. I’m moving to my third (and hopefully final) apartment in grad school, and the best thing I can say about the timing is that at least it’s not going down during the summer like my last two did, since it is painful to be outside in Houston. However, deciding to move in between traveling for a week at Thanksgiving and another at Christmas? Yikes. But I’ll be moving in with the bf and into a much nicer place, and that makes it worth it. I’ve been looking forward to/dreading/ living in limbo for the past few weeks, so actually I’m really looking forward to getting this all settled and of course, the living together for the first time omg part. But yeah, moving over Christmas itself? That sounds even rougher.

     
  2. Vanessa

    December 6, 2010 at 11:06 pm

    Nothing weekends are the best kind! Savor it, I say!

     

Leave a Reply

 
