RSS

proper relaxation

15 Nov

Ahh, finally recharged.

I have this terrible habit of filling up my weekends with Things To Do.  They’re usually fun things that I enjoy a lot, like driving home to visit my folks or hanging with Laura and working on Average Fantastic photoshoots or whatever.  Maybe I go up to Portland to go to that one store that I’ve been meaning to go to forever but haven’t gotten around to yet.  In any case, by the time Sunday night rolls around, I am completely and utterly exhausted.  All I want to do is lay in bed and stare at the ceiling for the next week and a half, but nope.  Work in the morning.   Get outta bed sister.  Take a shower.  Put some pants on.  Life goes on.

And so it was that last Friday I got home from work, dumped my purse and laptop bag unceremoniously on the floor, and stared into space for several minutes.

“Hey, sweetie,” Taylor said.  It was less of a greeting and more making sure that I was capable of communication.  I think he thought I was having some kind of silent seizure.  I murmured an indistinct reply, and Taylor gave me a hug.  “What do you want to do this weekend?” he asked me.

“Nothing,” I said.  “Absolutely nothing.”

And that is precisely what I did.

I slept a lot.  Played the stupidest computer game ever (and by stupid I mean stupid awesome) for about twelve cumulative hours.  Watched South Park and The Simpsons.  Drank a liter of Diet Coke.  Didn’t get a damn thing done.  I think I washed a dish.  Singular.  A singular dish.  That was about it.  On Sunday evening my parents breezed through town on the way back from California, and we went out to dinner.  It was the most effort I had put into anything since my last moment of work.

It was absolutely beautiful.  By this morning, I felt ready.  Prepared.  My batteries were recharged and I had the energy to wrangle a stampede of rhinoceroses, only these rhinoceroses all need things to be faxed right away and they are having problems with their internet connections.  It’s okay, rhinoceri!  I am on the job!

It’s amazing what a couple days of proper relaxation can do.  Some people relax by reading or hiking or exercising.  I relax by stagnating for as long as possible.

How do you relax?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 15, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “proper relaxation

  1. Alexandra

    November 15, 2010 at 5:01 pm

    I do just that. Absolutely Nothing. The movie Office Space hit it right on the head.

    (nothing = eat, sleep, play games, watch movies, read, sleep (yes, sleep again), mix & drink cocktails/beer, go nowhere outside of my P.J.s, etc.)

    I do absolutely nothing, and it’s everything I thought it could be.

     
    • SarahBarista

      November 15, 2010 at 6:15 pm

      @Alexandra. one word: Awesome. 🙂

       
  2. Becca

    November 17, 2010 at 2:15 am

    WOW I could so use one of those weekends right now. I have a list with about a million things on it that just keeps on growing and growing and growing.
    Although I will be getting some relax time when I go to the river Thanksgiving weekend. Not a lot to do there except be with family and friends celebrating our thanks!

     

Leave a Reply

 
