RSS

eras

12 Nov

Well, sports fans, the apartment is ours.  We will officially be out of the Spidernest by the end of December.

This morning while I was getting dressed, Taylor had me sign our contract so he could send it off to the appropriate parties.  He paused for a second and stood in the doorway, and looked at the dilapidated mouldings, the places where the carpet was coming away from the floor, and grinned.

“So,” he said. “Do you think that we’ve built enough character here to be allowed to leave.”

“YES,” I said.  “I have plenty of character, thank you very much.  Now give me my garbage disposal.  I’m ready for some first world comforts.”

In addition to our new apartment, we are finally in a position to decorate things the way we want to.  This has led to wild dreams about bathroom rugs, red couches, and lamps, beautiful glowing lamps in every corner of every room.  It will also probably lead to a little contention.

See, Taylor and I have never really had to reconcile our different tastes before.  Our apartment now is cobbled together from hand-me-downs and leftovers.  We didn’t choose any of it.  It’s kind of like, “Sweetie, can you stand to look at this desk?  You can?  Fantastic, we’ll keep it.”  Now we have an opportunity to stroll through Ikea, that great Swedish labyrinth, and argue about which coffee table we want in our living room.  Usually we are calm, level-headed individuals.  Our arguments are managed without name-calling or face-stabbing, but when Taylor looks at a red leather couch and raises his eyebrows with interest, I may not be able to resist calling said couch a ‘douchepod’ and saying terrible things about his upbringing.

He has similar reactions to my love of coat trees, I’m sure.

The other day I got a new winter coat.  It’s been years since I got a coat, and I’ve spent so much time waffling over styles and prices.  Taylor and I had stopped into the outlet mall near our house.  I had needed a break from the road (since the wreck, passing by large trucks leaves me anxious and shaky) and we ventured into the Banana Republic and there it was.  The Coat.  I’ll try to post a picture sometime soon, but needless to say, I’m ecstatic with it.

When we got home that evening, I modeled it for Taylor while he offered all the necessary approving comments.

“You know,” I said.  “It’s funny.  I did so much stuff in my old red coat.  I graduated high school.  I left for college, moved to New York, came back, met my friends, graduated college…I even met you in this coat.”

“Not actually wearing the red coat, but within the red coat era, yeah,” Taylor agreed.

“I just…I don’t know.”  I gnawed on my lip.  “It’s weird to wonder what I’m going to do in this coat.  The red one lasted six years. This is the coat I’ll have when I get married, maybe when I have kids, or when you finally finish your PhD.  A lot of stuff is going to happen in this coat.”

“I think that’s a sweet thought,” Taylor said.  “Yeah.  It’s fun to think about.”

It’s exactly how I feel about the new apartment.  What will Taylor and I do there?  What’s going to happen while we live there?  It’s all an open book, and despite any potential domestic disputes, it feels entirely natural to share it with Taylor.

Have you guys reached any milestones recently?  Any era-ending or beginning?  Do share!

To lessen the sap-factor, I’ll go ahead and link to Average Fantastic one more time.  We just put up our newest photo shoot!  Go check it out and leave a comment, if you truly want to make our day.

 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on November 12, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “eras

  1. Angela

    November 12, 2010 at 1:53 pm

    Congratulations on the new beginnings! That’s great news. No more spider madness!

    I know how you feel about overcoats – I lost mine a few years ago and wrote a long story about how I lost it, and how vulnerable I felt. It’s a protective layer, and durable ones walk with us through many memories. I hope your new coat takes good care of you through all the new adventures and stories to come.

     
  2. SarahBarista

    November 12, 2010 at 2:39 pm

    congrats on the apartment and the new coat! exciting times await you in both, i’m sure. 🙂

     
  3. Tess

    November 12, 2010 at 10:46 pm

    hehe douchepod

     
  4. Alice

    November 13, 2010 at 8:17 pm

    🙂 🙂 🙂 I’m so excited for you guys! 🙂 🙂 🙂

     
  5. Kelly

    November 15, 2010 at 6:56 am

    #1 I am behind on blog reading so I only just saw that you were in a wreck – oh no!! That had to be the WORST day. But I’m glad you came out of it alive and pretty much ticking!

    #2 My boyfriend and I have been slowly filling our house since we bought it a few months ago. There are a LOT of weekends at Ikea. This was another one. I am starting to hate Ikea because it can suck up whole days and whole paychecks. But I have to side with Taylor if he wants a red leather couch – we got one, and there was no disagreement over that 😉

    #3 Congratulations on the new coat! It’s always fun to think back when getting rid of big/intimate items like that. I even do it with my hair, which is silly. When I get a haircut I try to think of how long ago the ends were my roots, and everything I’ve done since then. Then I feel bad about cutting away part of me that was there during X great event.

     
  6. Becca

    November 17, 2010 at 1:15 am

    New Beginnings….well I got married in August, then a month later my mother-in-law passed away suddenly, so yeah there have been a few new beginnings in my life recently. But I know it has all happened for a reason.
    Congratulations on your new coat and the new apartment, I hope they both bring many great memories to you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
