RSS

moving along

10 Nov

I wanted to thank everyone for their support over this whole stupid car wreck thing.  I’m still feeling all…weird about it, but things are looking up.  My luck seems to be changing for the better, and maybe some of that ‘goes around’ will finally ‘come around’.

The good ‘goes around’ I mean.  Not like…the time I tied balloons to the cat or stole a piece of my brother’s Halloween candy.

The apartment hunt seems to be moving along.  We’ve been having a vicious shortage here in Corvallis, and most of the Craigslist ads look like this:

*~*~*TOTALLY ON THE LEVEL*~*~*

Super Gorgeous House with landry machine and dishwasher very nice backyard dogs and cats O.K.!!!!!!  5br/3ba $400/mo water/sewer/garbage paid.  i live in bosnia so pls enquire at following E-Mail address – steve.thompson@getrichquick.com

These ads are usually accompanied by a single photo of an upscale house in Hawaii.

There’s been a particular apartment complex that Taylor and I have had our eye on for awhile, but they always seem to be full up.  That’s a good sign, right?  These apartments, nay, these bastions of comfort feature such startling amenities as dishwashers, walk-in closets, kitchens with counters in them and carpet that nobody has thrown up on.  They are near enough the school for Taylor to bike there and far enough from the main street of town to be at least somewhat residential.  The rent is high enough that Tommy College isn’t going to be ‘kegging’ next door (or whatever those rascals do nowadays) but low enough that we’ll be able to pay it and also eat food on a regular basis.  These apartments seem like the ultimate post-graduate palace.

We were fairly thrilled this morning when they called and told us they had a unit open, and would we like to come see?

Heck yes we’d like to come see.

In my mind, Taylor and I will drive over and the apartment will be beautiful.  It will be everything we’ve ever wanted.  Nobody else will be applying, just us.  We will be notified of our acceptance tomorrow, and we’ll be able to move in over the long Thanksgiving weekend.  The move will be graceful and simple and we will bid goodbye to all the spiders and the slugs that come in under the back door at night.  That evening, Taylor will work in his well-lit office, and I will take a shower.

As I shower, the water will pour down the drain with nary a complaint.  I will be able to see my feet the entire time, rather than a tubful of rusty grey dingewater.

Then I will go to sleep in a room where the windows all open and close and the wind doesn’t creep in, and I will rest warmly and wonderfully, without the fear of moths crawling up my nose and laying eggs in my brain.

And my friends will visit and not be appalled by that strange ever present musty smell that we can’t get out of the walls.

And we’ll get two cats and a dog.

And I’ll get a raise.

And start having sleek hair that does whatever I want it to.

Hey, dream high, right?

Anyway, we’re going to go take a look at this place and see how well it fills my wild expectations.

Today at Average Fantastic we would like to get our new readers involved!  Every Wednesday we’ll be posting a featured question, and we would be absolutely giddy with excitement if you’d pop over and put in your two cents.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 10, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “moving along

  1. lisa

    November 10, 2010 at 4:12 pm

    I’m sorry to hear about what happened to your car. 😦 Good luck with the apartment hunt though.

     
  2. Vanessa

    November 10, 2010 at 7:13 pm

    I hope the apartment is everything you’ve dreamed of! And full of flying unicorns! (Pegaunisisicorns is the scientific term for that).

     

Leave a Reply

 
