RSS

THE BIG REVEAL

05 Nov

You guys, I’m really, really excited about this.

A while ago, I had another of my stupid crazy ideas.  These occur frequently and unexpectedly.  I’ll be calmly playing Final Fantasy in the evening and suddenly I’ll bolt upright and yell, “A BOOK ABOUT A MACHINE THAT CAN CALCULATE THE BEST DECISIONS THAT PEOPLE SHOULD MAKE ON AN INDIVIDUAL BASIS AND HOW IT CREATES A CREEPY DYSTOPIAN FUTURE.”  Or I’ll be casually munching away on a Nature Made bar and I’ll suddenly yelp, “A CIRCUS WHERE THE PEOPLE ARE DRESSED AS CATS AND DOGS AND THE CATS AND DOGS ARE DRESSED AS PEOPLE.”

Unsurprisingly, these brief flashes of inspiration rarely yield anything useful.  The ideas that tend to mean something are usually born from a need, rather than random spates of creativity.

So I’ll start with the ‘need’ here, and then move on to the product.

About two percent of the world’s population is what society calls ‘beautiful’.  About two percent is what society would call ‘superfug’.  The remaining ninety six percent is commonly referred to as ‘average’.

This strikes me as weird, and I’ll tell you why.  I could easily be called an ‘average looking person’.  Many of my friends could be called ‘average looking people’, but that definition fails to capture so much.  I don’t look anything like my ‘average’ friends, and they look nothing like each other.  I’ve started to hate the word ‘average’, because it simply can’t identify anybody.  What does ‘average’ mean?  Why do so many ‘average’ people have so little in common?  Fact is, the human race is huge and expansive and diverse.  People have blond hair and brown hair and black hair and green eyes and brown eyes.  They’re tall and short and fat and thin and they have long arms and short legs and long legs and short arms.  They have different fingers and toes, different knees, different noses, different laughs, and with all those differences, calling a person ‘average’ is a lazy catch-all that cannot possibly capture the unique idiosyncracies that make us interesting, beautiful, and human.

Society says I’m average.

I secretly know I’m fantastic.

This is where the solution comes in.  So, hey, guys, welcome to Average Fantastic.

Average Fantastic is a joint project between Laura and myself.  Our goal is to examine just what is so amazingly wonderful about the people we encounter by making everyone a model.  We conduct photo shoots with silly, dramatic, awesome themes like ‘Superheroes!’ or ‘Monochrome!’ and get pictures of real people, real gorgeous average fantastic people that you won’t find in Vogue or Glamour.

It’s all good, clean, body-positive fun and you can join in whenever you want.

You may think you’re average, but you’re not.  You aren’t too this or not enough that.  You are amazing, and I hope that you’ll join Laura and I in celebrating that.

Average Fantastic.

Tell your friends.

The site is still new, and our process is developing, so constructive feedback is super appreciated!

 
9 Comments

Posted by on November 5, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

9 responses to “THE BIG REVEAL

  1. Sally

    November 5, 2010 at 10:49 am

    More than a little stoked about this, lady! I’ll tell my people to tell their people.

     
    • Jessica

      November 5, 2010 at 12:17 pm

      Thanks, Sal! You’re fantastic! 😀

       
    • Alexandra

      November 5, 2010 at 12:52 pm

      Hey Sally. I just clicked on your site and made the connection of who you are. I work at the TV Station in Mpls/St Paul that owns Twin Cities Live. You were here earlier this week to do a segment.

      No we didn’t meet. I work in the Graphics Dept. But I saw you on the show that day.

      I admire your efforts (as well as Jessica’s/Laura’s) helping young girls and women feel great about who they are, how they are, as they are. Usually this doesn’t happen until we turn 40 😉

      I’m so glad that support for these ladies is just a click away!
      Kudos to all of you.

       
  2. Alexandra

    November 5, 2010 at 11:35 am

    All I can say right now is YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAYYYYY!!!!!!!!!!!!
    (I’m immature. I know that about myself.)
    and still, YAAAAAAAAAAAYYY!!!!

     
    • Alexandra

      November 5, 2010 at 12:11 pm

      [slow day at work] After browsing the site, I see what must have been the pole that jumped out and attacked you last weekend. I hope you’re knee is feeling better!

       
      • Jessica

        November 5, 2010 at 12:17 pm

        I have a truly impressive bruise that I’m excited about! It’s a little tender, but I’m not wincing or limping.

        Thanks for browsing the site! We’re really pumped up about the whole thing, and the support even in the last few hours has been great.

         
  3. Angela

    November 5, 2010 at 1:03 pm

    From the mixed-species circus to the futuristic 8-ball to Average Fantastic…great ideas. The last one in particular will be a great influence, and I look forward to seeing it develop, ladies!

     
  4. Katie

    November 5, 2010 at 8:39 pm

    This is such an awesome idea! I love it.

     
  5. gw

    November 6, 2010 at 7:10 am

    This is an amazing idea and I just added it to my daily reading. Thank you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
