RSS

tis the season

25 Oct

Fall is officially here.

If there is anything that Oregon does properly (besides blackberries and rusty cars) it’s fall.  Wind pours through the streets.  Rain comes in tremendous storms and then vanishes.  Trees sob red leaves onto the sidewalk, and they scramble over each other like live technicolor mice.  It’s my favorite time of year, and it makes me feel kind of lyrical.

You might have guessed that.

Because the Willamette Valley isn’t any great purveyor of snow, the temperature in autumn is generally about as close as we get to winter.  This means that when that nip creeps into the air, I immediately start feeling festive.  It’s like, everything is dying!  Hooray!  Who wants to go shopping for presents?  Already the stores are filling up with Christmas decorations and the inevitable attempts at Thanksgiving merchandise.  Yesterday I saw a turkey tablecloth.  The cartoon turkey, clad in a pilgrim jacket and hat, looked uneasy about the whole situation.  I didn’t blame him.  I could see some well-intentioned parent buying that tablecloth and bringing it out every year in the triumphant name of tradition.  Kids going through their angsty teenage years would stare at that cartoon turkey and transpose all of their adolescent hate onto it.

Actually, when I have teenagers, I fully intend to buy a tablecloth like that, just to annoy them.  I’ll take pictures of them next to it, with their eyeliner and dyed hair and sturdy frowns, and I’ll put it in a scrapbook with the caption, “Bethany’s 14th Thanksgiving…having a Gobble Gobblin’ Good Time!!”

For some reason, I am completely enamored with Thanksgiving.  Maybe even more than Christmas.  I mean, it has the family togetherness of Christmas, the fun and silly little traditions, but it’s cheaper, easier, and far less pressure.  Thanksgiving is like Christmas’s cool little brother, who may not have finished college but still gives better advice and throws a better party.  When you go to Thanskgiving’s parties, it’s all, “Hey, man, what’s up?  There’s some beer in the fridge, come and watch some funny YouTube videos with us.”  When you go to Christmas’ parties, it’s all, “Hey, YOU were in charge of bringing the onion dip!  I swear, I ask you to do one thing…I can’t even deal with this right now.  The band is late and nobody knows how to hook up the disco ball.  EVERYTHING IS RUINED FOREVER.”

Don’t get Christmas wrong.  He really is a nice guy, and people can’t help but love him, and when his parties come together they really come together.  He just stresses out a little too much, and maybe needs to chill out and enjoy the moment.

Anyway.  That got kind of weird pretty quickly.  Really, I just wanted to say that I am jonesin’ for the holidays, Thanksgiving especially.  I’m ready for some turkey and football and cooking at 9:00 AM.

What are your favorite holidays?

 
9 Comments

Posted by on October 25, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

9 responses to “tis the season

  1. lisa

    October 25, 2010 at 12:11 pm

    Hmm you have a valid point about Thanksgiving. I don’t know if you’ve ever experienced it, but I always have this anti-climactic “Is that all there is?” melancholy feeling after Christmas. Maybe it’s because expectations for it tend to build up throughout December. On the other hand, I always go into Thanksgiving with zero expectations and just enjoy it as a cozy relaxing long weekend and an excuse for gluttony, and in the end it’s a much better experience overall.

     
  2. Jerry

    October 25, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    Your personification of the holidays seriously reminded me of Neil Gaiman’s story “October in the Chair”. If you haven’t read it, I highly recommend it. The months of the year take turns telling stories and swapping banter. Good stuff!

     
  3. Jen

    October 26, 2010 at 8:42 pm

    My two favorite holidays involve gluttony and alcoholism. (Thanksgiving and St. Patrick’s Day, respectively.) AND I am thrilled to say that my turducken shipped from Louisiana yesterday, left Tennessee today and is scheduled to arrive on my doorstep by THURSDAY!!! I am super excited. 🙂 Turkey. Stuffed with duck. Stuffed with chicken. And all of the little spaces between the birds? Stuffed with pork creole cornbread stuffing. It will be EPIC.

     
    • Jessica

      October 27, 2010 at 8:46 am

      How do you even eat that?

       
  4. Heather

    October 27, 2010 at 12:30 pm

    Turducken is pretty awesome, but we actually had that one year at Christmas. That said, I get way more excited about Thanksgiving. I think for me it’s because Christmas used to be really awesome growing up (in the way where lots of people came over to our house, not just the whole getting lots of presents as a cute kid thing), but then everyone started doing their own thing, so Christmas shrank as a holiday. Whereas Thanksgiving has always, and continues to be an excellent time for family and, as was said above, way less pressure.

     
  5. Brittney

    October 27, 2010 at 2:58 pm

    Man, Thanksgiving for me has never been really cool. We don’t have that much extended family around here and it’s just my immediate family (whom I live with) eating turkey (which I don’t like, because I am seven) and maybe having a really corny conversation about being thankful for each other.

    And then I gorge myself on olives and watch STAR WARS.

    I’ve worked the last 3 Thanksgivings and subsequently missed the dinner. I think I’m going to work this year too, I don’t know, it’s just not as important to our family as Christmas.

     
  6. Krista

    October 27, 2010 at 11:33 pm

    I’m swiftly loving Thanksgiving more than Christmas. Since getting married we’ve basically told the parents, “Screw you!” and stay home. We cook up tons of good food and invite neighbors that don’t have anywhere to go.

    Christmas, on the other hand, is troublesome. Especially since The Hubby’s siblings insist on getting hitched at Christmas-time on my family’s years. Since he’s from Cali and I’m from Washington that doesn’t work so well…

     
    • Jessica

      October 28, 2010 at 8:47 am

      Oh gosh, I LOVE the idea of doing a ‘leftovers’ thanksgiving…leftovers meaning people who don’t have a place to go. What a sweet idea! These things always take on a different vibe with friends.

       
  7. rubybastille

    October 28, 2010 at 9:08 pm

    I’m kinda with Brittney on the Thanksgiving thing, partly because of the small-family thing and partly because it always seemed like a lot of work without a lot of payoff. Christmas at least has the tree and the presents waiting at the end of a long dinner. Thanksgiving is just a long, labor-intensive (albeit extremely tasty) meal. Possibly TV marathons are involved.

    Also I’d like you to revisit this post in, oh, February, and see if you still feel the same about the temperature thing, because the weather we’re having right now is positively balmy.

     

Leave a Reply

 
