RSS

plenty fair

30 Aug

Last week I sent an e-mail to Laura demanding that we do something fun over the weekend, to which Laura responded, “Wait, aren’t we already going to the fair?”

I won’t lie.  I’m one of those people to whom a good fair has an almost inexhaustible appeal.  What’s not to love?  Throngs of interesting people, buildings well stocked with cakes and jams and zucchini of varying sizes and colors, pigs, cows, chickens, piglets, photo contests, kitschy shows, and stand after stand of temptingly carbacious foods that were forged in the secret kitchens of Hell.

For a young Oregonian with the vaguest concept of sophistication and propriety, the fair is like catnip.

We left fairly early this morning after we thoroughly slathered our arms and faces with suntan lotion, but it wasn’t that necessary.  The day turned out to be just barely blue.  High thin clouds blocked out the heat, and there was a pleasant breeze drifting around the buildings.  It was a good day to be outside.  Since Taylor’s and my new camera (a Canon Powershot, thanks for the advice, friends!) arrived on Thursday, we were eager to give it a good solid workout.

Naturally, this meant annoying the livestock.

What about you guys?  Been to the fair this summer?  Got a favorite part?

"WILLLLLBURRRRRR."

I want to make like eight cow puns right now, but I promised myself I wouldn't heifer do that again.

"I can't believe I have to wear this stupid headgear to glee club tonight."

There was a big sign here that said "DON'T TOUCH THE RAMS" in angry letters, but there was a drawing of a happy smiling ram with glitter on it, so I guess it evened out.

EMO GOOSE CRIES IN ITS CAGE OF EMOTION

"Excuse me? Did you need something?"

OH MY GOD, you guys. There is nothing I love quite as much as bizarre ugly chickens. The kind that evolution forgot in her mad race towards practicality. I may have about twelve thousand photos of ugly chickens now. And I love them all like my very own awkward poofy babies.

"MY HAIR IS AN EXPRESSION OF MYSELF, MOM, AND I'M NOT CUTTING IT."

Hipster chicken poses in his skinny jeans.

Boy, chicken, you're going to feel much less uppity when you realize you have crap on your forehead.

ALSO I FOUND A BATMAN

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 30, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “plenty fair

  1. Tegan

    August 30, 2010 at 4:14 pm

    I love the emo goose– and the rest. I don’t get to fairs often, but I always love lllllllamas and piglets. I’ve never gotten up the guts to be in a pie-eating contest, but someday, someday… Does your fair have a pancake eating contest? I’ve never seen one of those, but I know I could win.

     
    • Jessica

      August 30, 2010 at 5:33 pm

      Man, pancake eating contests? That sounds fantastic. They did have a BBQ contest that I didn’t get to go to. I think it was less about EATING BBQ and more about MAKING BBQ, but still. Any contest involving BBQ is a winner in my book.

      That was kind of a joke, I guess. Ba-dum-psssch. 🙂

       
  2. Jerry

    August 30, 2010 at 8:36 pm

    Oh man. Those chickens. They all have EPIC ANIME HAIR.
    It makes me very sad that I did not get to go to a single fair this year. It might make me less sad if I saw more chicken snapshots on this blog.

     
  3. Terri

    August 31, 2010 at 6:39 pm

    I want a yard rooster!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
