RSS

blurry weasel surprise

13 Aug

There are things that I know a lot  about, and things that I don’t know very much about at all.

Things I know a lot about include Batman, tomato soup, cartoons from the nineties, and Taylor.

Things that I don’t know very much about include horses, how cardboard boxes are made, Portugal, and cameras.

The latter might come as a surprise.  It seems as though you need at least three community college courses in photography to get your Blogging License these days, and to be frank, I didn’t know what the letters DSLR stood for until this morning.  Whenever I saw beautiful photos on the internet taken by DSLR cameras, I pretty much made it up.

“Here’s a photo of a mule that I took with my Double Standard Luxury Ruminator.”

And then I would giggle to myself, because I had just made a joke in my head and somebody has to laugh at my jokes or I will develop a self-esteem problem.

The whole camera thing is coming up now because it’s recently come to my attention that my little point-and-shoot is getting grievously out of date.  Taylor bought it for me as a present before we left for college.  It takes some decent photos, but it is the sort of machine that you have to wrestle with for a little bit before it does what you want.

“Camera,” you tell it.  “Please photograph that wilted flower right there.  See?  The one that the charming bumblebee is crawling all over.  It will make a poignantly ironic addition to my Tumblr.”

The camera enthusiastically whirs and burbles, preparing to get the picture, but the picture you get isn’t a flower at all, but a mess of blurs that could possibly be a rose bush, but is more likely some kind of weasel.

“Camera,” you say disapprovingly.  “Now is that what I asked for?”

“¿Que?” says the camera.  “¿Hay un problema?”

And that is why I don’t usually post photos on the internet.

The camera thing is coming up now because Taylor is taking me on a surprise trip in September.

This is where I back up and segue so you understand the sheer importance of that statement.

So, Taylor is a lot of things.  He is brilliant.  He is sweet.  He is helpful.  He is tall.  But surprising?  Surprising he ain’t.  This is by no means a bad thing.  I would much rather have my kind, careful stable Taylor than one of those charmingly impulsive boyfriends that shows up one day and says, “Guess what?  I ditched school and sold all our worldly possessions so that we can go live on a barge in Malaysia!  We can make a travel diary.  Don’t worry, all we need is LOVE.”

But he’ll need more than love.  He’ll need stitches, and complex machinery to extract my fist from his brain.

Despite my need for consistency, I do love a good surprise and Taylor, bless his heart, tries to deliver.  The problem with this is that we have been dating six and a half years, and when Taylor says, “I have a kooky idea!” I know exactly what that kooky idea is, and how it will be implemented.  Since our last ‘surprise date’ when I quickly guessed that we were on our way to go eat sushi at our favorite restaurant and see the A-Team movie, Taylor has made it his mission to really and thoroughly surprise me.

And he’s doing a good job.

A few weeks ago he asked me to get a few days off in September, around Labor Day.

“What are we doing?” I asked.  He just grinned.

We are driving somewhere to see something.  He asked me if I knew where my passport was, but that may be a red herring.  Whatever we are doing is time sensitive to that weekend.

I am utterly stumped.  It’s pretty rad.

So that’s where the camera comes in.  Taylor and I have never actually taken a vacation together, just the two of us.  We’ve talked about going to Japan, going to Hawaii, going on The Great American Road Trip, but these are things that won’t fit into our budget or our time constraints right now.  Whatever we are doing, I want some photos, gosh darn it, and I don’t want them to be vague blurs.

So!  Any suggestions, Internet?  I want something that will take some lovely high quality photos without a stack of lessons and additional equipment.  Brittney has suggested the Canon Powershot series.  Taylor has declared that he is going to do some research on the subject, but I want to beat him to the punch.

What do you use?  Do you love it?

 
12 Comments

Posted by on August 13, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

12 responses to “blurry weasel surprise

  1. Brittney

    August 13, 2010 at 10:13 am

    Canon powershoooooooooooot! I love them. also you do not have a tumblr don’t lie.

    And i am so excited for you to go somewhere!!! Yay!!!

     
  2. Sally

    August 13, 2010 at 10:18 am

    Brittney is right – the PowerShot series is great – especially the Elph. If you want an entry-level DSLR, the Canon Rebel rocks.

     
    • Jessica

      August 13, 2010 at 10:31 am

      Ooh, I like the sound of ‘entry level DSLR’. I’ll be looking that one up!

       
  3. supesukauboi

    August 13, 2010 at 11:08 am

    I use the Canon Powershot SD700IS, and I am very happy with it. When I was researching to buy the camera, sites specifically devoted to the nuances between cameras were helpful, but reviews by customers at shopping sites like Amazon are what sold me.

     
  4. lisa

    August 13, 2010 at 12:20 pm

    I’ll second all the Canon PowerShot recommendations. I have the digital Elph and am always surprised at how well photos turn out considering they came from such a small point-and-shoot. I knew I didn’t want a DSLR because I wanted portability over power (but I still wanted decent photos), and the Canon PowerShot definitely delivers.

     
  5. saetia

    August 13, 2010 at 1:32 pm

    Whatever camera you choose, make sure you thoroughly research prices! Places like newegg.com and tigerdirect.ca (not sure if there’s a US version) are usually pretty good, but if you can’t wait to have it delivered, Best Buy will sometimes price match. Their policy is “only if the website also has a brick-and-mortar store,” but sometimes you get a lazy employee who forgets to check.

    Also, Powershots are awesome.

     
  6. rubybastille

    August 13, 2010 at 3:55 pm

    I am happy with my Nikon DSLR, but it’s the kind of camera where you have to know aperture settings and all that, and I haven’t put in enough time to really learn how to use it well. 😦 But my Nikon point-and-shoot survived getting dropped on its face – remember when the lens got all wonky? It got fixed and it’s still workin’ fine. BUT I used Canon point-and-shoots before that and they were just fine. So I have no opinion.

     
  7. Melissa

    August 13, 2010 at 4:36 pm

    What Ruby said. I’ve had a Nikon D40 for 3 years now, and I have yet to try anything but auto mode. 😦
    On the other hand, I’m fairly satisfied with what I can accomplish in auto mode!

     
  8. Kelsey

    August 13, 2010 at 9:21 pm

    I also have a Canon Powershot. I’m pretty sure it’s exactly what you’ll want – portable, user-friendly, and takes great photos. Next time you want a picture of the wilted flower and the bumblebee, you can flip to Digital Macro mode and get a crisp, lovely photo. No special equipment needed! Good luck to you!

     
  9. outdoorexplorer

    August 14, 2010 at 4:50 am

    I really like my sony cyber-shot (their version of the powershot) and they have only improved the series. They’re inexpensive and fit in a pocket really nicely. They still take great pictures too. Just look around for what you want. Find something small that has 10+megapixel and 10x+optical zoom. Believe me they exist, and they are wonderful. I thought about buying a new one before coming to Japan, but decided to wait and find something cheap and nice over here. . . unfortunately there is nowhere close to me to look. . .

     
  10. Kelly

    August 14, 2010 at 7:02 am

    I cannot recommend anything in particular. I have a Sony Cybershot and I really like it, but since I’m not a camera gal I have no idea how it stacks up. (But don’t judge the camera by my blog photos. Somehow I’m getting good at taking pictures of most everything *except* myself on my porch right when I leave for work).

    ANYWAY the whole reason I wanted to leave a comment is to tell you that I was reading this post while sitting next to my boyfriend and when I started giggling, he started reading, and he started laughing, and promptly asked me to send him your site address so he could follow you 🙂

     
    • Jessica

      August 14, 2010 at 9:04 am

      Whoa, really? That makes my morning, Kelly! Thanks!

      And HI, KELLY’S BOYFRIEND! IT IS NICE TO MEET YOU. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
