RSS

mistress medley

26 Mar

You guys know that I’m all about frugality.  I think it probably comes of being a youngest child, and getting so many things second hand.  Paying for clothes seems ludicrous when I had a plentiful supply of He-Man shirts from my older brother growing up.  Why start paying now?  And it’s not just clothes I’m thrifty with, it’s pretty much everything.

Potato chips?  Ehh, we can get the Albertson’s brand.  Used furniture has pre-worn butt grooves for your comfort.  We can always get napkins from the Subway on 9th St.  Did you know they just give them to you there?  For free?

For all my money-grubbing tendencies, though, I’m not very crafty.  I have friends that repurpose things, or even make their own things.  They’ll make their own shelves!  Their own bedframes!  Their own necklaces and headbands!  I was pretty sure you couldn’t do that without the Magic Manufacturing Fairies that visit all the big companies and wave their happy fairy wands over the illegal child labor.  You need some sort of deeply supernatural powers to construct the same sort of thing you’d buy in a store.

This is why I’m so pumped up about Tess’s new blog.  You’ve heard me talk about Tess, more than once, even. With all her friends flocking to the blogosphere, Tess decided it was time to jump on the wagon, and I’m tickled pink.  Along with discussions of self-image and  style discovery, she’s writing about some nifty budget tips and tricks that I am eager to copy.  She seriously blew my mind, though, with this recipe for your own coffee creamer.

Like seriously, you can do that.

Make your own coffee creamer.

WHAT.

I KNOW.

READ HER BLOG.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 26, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “mistress medley

  1. Anonymous

    March 26, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    Thank you, dear! I’ve learned much of what I know about blogging from you guys. Consider me your padawan apprentice.

     
  2. Clawmom

    March 26, 2010 at 11:04 pm

    I must recommend the “Tightwad Gazette” books by Amy Dacyczyn. It’s fun to see how creative people can be while being frugal.

     
  3. outdoorexplorer

    March 27, 2010 at 6:43 pm

    Awesome, I didn’t know Tess had started a blog, so thanks!

    Krista

     
  4. Vanessa

    March 28, 2010 at 10:34 am

    DIY Coffee creamer? I’m in.

     

Leave a Reply

 
