RSS

a particular nerdology

18 Mar

Okay, you guys, okay.

I admit that I’m kind of a nerd.  A geek, maybe.  Different people have different interpretations of those words, but what I’m trying to say is that I watch Phineas & Ferb on Saturday morning and I thought Donkey Kong Country was totally awesome.  My nerditude extends into a few different areas – books, comics, movies, to get started.  Covers of the songs from Megaman 2.  The ability to tell Commander William T. Riker and Lieutenant Thomas Riker apart.  My nerdosity spans time and space, and includes subjects both obscure and well-known.

My nerdulence, however, has taken on a new level recently.  It’s kind of like when a cocaine junkie graduates to crack.  I’ve moved from casual videogames involving Batman or adorable little creatures made out of sacking to that lumbering beast of the gaming industry, that behemoth…Final Fantasy.

For the uninitiated, Final Fantasy was the last-ditch effort of a failing Japanese game company, Square Soft, back in the early nineties or so.  When it became wildly popular, the company was saved, and they thought, heck!  Why not make a Final Fantasy II?  And so they did.  And then a Final Fantasy III, and Final Fantasy IV and so on.  Each game contains some basic themes, although the characters, plots, and worlds change with every new iteration.  Pretty much every game has magic, swords, and a guy with unnaturally fancy hair who wants to destroy the world.  Or wings.  He might just have wings.

Taylor’s been a fan of Final Fantasy since he could walk, and while I’ve never had anything against the genre (I even played Final Fantasy X once during a long winter vacation, until I discovered that these games got hard at the end) I’ve never had a specific urge to indulge.

Well, okay.  So Taylor’s birthday is this weekend, and as an early present, I bought him Final Fantasy XIII.

GUESS WHO HAS BEEN PLAYING THIS GAME MORE THAN TAYLOR.

HINT.

IT’S ME.

Every night this week I’ve come home overtired and overworked, parked myself in front of the television and started playing.  I start getting twitchy around the lunch hour, wondering if I upgraded my party’s weapons last night, and how will I use the main character’s Crystal Points in the Crystarium?

I do not make this shit up, my friends.  There is a Crystarium, and it occupies a really unnecessary portion of my thoughts.

With Final Fantasy XIII, my nerdiatry has finally reached an almost damaging level.  The dishes are piling up.  I haven’t done the laundry, and last night I had to take a step back and remind myself that dinner was an essential component of the day before I turned on the PlayStation3.  This nerdosis has to be quelled somewhere, somehow, before I end up a couch-bound addict, crusted over with Cheeto dust and my own drool.

Taylor doesn’t mind this scenario. He finds it endearing.

So come on, comfort me.  I know there are some other nerds out there.  What are your recent obsessions?  What form has your nerdolatry taken most recently?  Tell me your secret geeky shames, and I’ll reply to you, I promise, just as soon as I get to a save point.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 18, 2010 in Life

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “a particular nerdology

  1. Gil

    March 18, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    First off… Nothing wrong with nerdulence. I wear that flag with pride ;D

    I hear the Crystarium is similar to Final Fantasy X’s Sphere grid. If so I am definitely going to love it once I decide to pick up FFXIII. The sphere grid was/is the best leveling system that I have ever had the pleasure of using. But that’s just my opinion.

    I’ll admit that I’m geekin over FFXIV more than anything and I am so hoping to get in the Beta for the PS3 when it comes. If not I’m gonna blow a gasket waiting for the actual game to be released late this year. I’m just worried that It may not get released until next year. They say Alpha will last roughly a month and Beta will last roughly 6 months. Well beta just started and six months from now is September… that’s pretty darn close to the end of the year and if there are a lot of bugs to fix, were lookin at next year. Makes me sad.

    Lastly, “My name is Jessica Bagley. I’m basically a ten year old boy trapped in the body of a hobbit with a totally sweet rack.” Awesome by the way. Simply AWESOME!

     
  2. Michael M.

    March 18, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    I guess my current nerd obsession is technically comic/game writing. I’ve been reading a lot on comic book theory (yes this does exist,) comic writing, game writing, and videogame theory. Although its all for my capstone project so its work and not really relaxing (but its interesting at least.)

    Also it wasn’t that SquareSoft was in trouble when Final Fantasy was made, it was that the game’s director Sakaguchi hadn’t had any successful games so he called it Final Fantasy intending it to be his last videogame before quitting… until it was a huge success. (I’m a bit of a videogame history nerd too I guess.)

     
  3. Kristi

    March 18, 2010 at 3:12 pm

    Oh Jess. Final Fantasy was my gateway drug in HIGHSCHOOL, darling. If ever you need reassurance there is someone nerdier than you, you are welcome to come find me. I’ll be that hermit in front of the laptop, trying to puzzle out the gender of her recent favorite anime character.

    I have been largely un-nerded by this term (spare for FireRed, which is at least partially your and Brittney’s fault), but I can still lust after the fact you have FFXIII. Or a PS3 for that matter. FOR THE LOVE OF GOD, SPEND THE CRYSTAL POINTS WISELY.

    My time has not been entirely wasted though! For instance, I can tell you that cocaine and crack are the same thing, crack is just the alkaloid salt. It’s reassuring I am still learning useful things in college.

    PS- YOU ARE AMAZING AND NEVER FAIL TO MAKE ME SMILE.

     
  4. James

    March 19, 2010 at 11:01 am

    Ahh, Final Fantasy, the one pitfall of gaming that never fully managed to ensnare me. It came close with a shiny new iteration of Final Fantasy IV for the DS, but as you say, those games get hard near the end, and none more so than that latest remake. I don’t mind grinding up little by little, hour after hour, but when every fight contains the very distinct possibility of a party wipe, you’ve officially frustrated James past reconciliation.

    I wish I could help with suggestions for self-control, but I regularly binge on video games I have already beaten, not to mention just about any new, unconquered title (My current drug of choice is another run of Assassin’s Creed II, but I can quit anytime I want…really). Instead, I will counsel you to savor the experience, take your time, and really enjoy every aspect of the game you can the first time through. Also, if you expand your gaming horizons, stick to the single-player, offline games; believe it or not, those are the least addictive.

    Hrm…that semicolon doesn’t feel right.

     
  5. Brittney

    March 19, 2010 at 10:03 pm

    TOO BUSY PLAYING POKEMON SOUL SILVER TO COMMENT, SORRY.

     
  6. Mishabelle

    March 22, 2010 at 11:12 pm

    Awe, don’t worry, I am a ridiculous video game junkie. Every so often I get madly absorbed into something and that game will take up every moment of my spare time. From Pokemon Blue when I was eight, to Ocarina of Time when I was twelve (and Majora’s Mask at thirteen), to Kingdom Hearts 2 and most recently, Oblivion. So far I’ve been holding off on spending money on more video games to waste my time with… but Final Fantasy looks so good, and I do indeed have a nary-used Playstation 3… hm. 🙂
    And on another note… BRITTNEY I AM VERY JEALOUS OF YOUR SOULSIVER! I haven’t been able to justify spending $33 dollars on a Pokemon game yet… but soon, I do declare! SOON!

     

Leave a Reply

 
