RSS

saturday jane descends upon the classroom

02 Feb

You guys, I have been deeply remiss about posting lately.

It hasn’t been because I haven’t had ideas.  I could talk about my recent eye surgery (!) or a recent concert I went to where the smug maestro mixed Mozart with smooth jazz.  I could even finish my comprehensive essay titled, “Why Everyone Needs To Lay Off Superman And Give The Poor Dude A Chance To Be Cool”.

Really, I suppose that stress has somehow flattened any creative impulses that have attempted to flutter through my brain.  Lately, blogging has kind of been like trying to water a plant that is already dead.

That was morbid.  Scratch that.

Rewind.

Blogging has been kind of like trying to play with a disinterested cat.  You can wave your carefully crafted string toy in front of its nose all you want, but really you’re just going to get your pride hurt.  That cat wants nothing to do with you.  My creative impulse is that disinterested cat, at the moment.

Still though, there are tiny glimmers of hope!  For instance, Laura sent me an e-mail the other day with the words, “have you seen this???”

There was a link to a website, which I clicked eagerly.  From Laura’s tone, I either suspected some sort of heinous movie sequel news or maybe some gory pictures of amputees or something.

I don’t judge what you do on the internet.

Anyway, upon clicking, I discovered a teacher’s resource website.  See, okay.  Backstory.

A friend of mine from high school is now an  English teacher.  He seems like the coolest kind of English  teacher, too,  like the kind that lets you draw all over the white board and do creative projects about the books you’re reading, so long as it shows thought about the source material etc. etc.

How do I know he is so cool?

Because he made a freakin’ worksheet out of my blog.

Friends, I am being taught.  My work is being forced upon the young people of America, and I couldn’t be happier.  It is somewhat satisfying to know that somewhere, a teacher is placing my rants on men’s earrings and cold weather in front of bewildered children, and asking them to pick nouns out of my sentences riddled with improper commas and made-up words, although it makes me reconsider my penchant for blue language.

Haha, okay, no it doesn’t.

It’s a good thing, to be read.  It bolsters that aforementioned creative impulse just a little bit, gives it a swift kick in the rump and says, “somebody’s WATCHING, act like you’re working!”

And by the way?

I tried to do that worksheet.

And I totally failed that assignment.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on February 2, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

7 responses to “saturday jane descends upon the classroom

  1. Rebekah

    February 2, 2010 at 8:10 pm

    Zowie, that puts you right up there with “To Kill a Mockingbird” and “Catcher in the Rye”! Soon, Saturday Jane will be banned in public schools. In a cool way, I mean.

     
  2. Brittney

    February 2, 2010 at 11:38 pm

    DUUUDE that’s AMAAAZING I am SOOO JEALOUSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

     
  3. Sally

    February 3, 2010 at 8:59 am

    Is this the best kind of fame ever? I believe it is.

     
  4. Vanessa

    February 4, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    I’m not even going to ATTEMPT to do that worksheet, but that’s so cool!

     
  5. Jen

    February 5, 2010 at 4:46 pm

    Dude. AWESOME! 🙂 And I don’t even know where to start with the worksheet (that was never included with my schoolin’ ^.~)

     
  6. rubybastille

    February 7, 2010 at 12:10 am

    SPEAKING OF HEINOUS SEQUELS.

    You probably already know this, but just in case.

    They’re making a Roger Rabbit sequel. This could have been amazing. BUT NO, for it is being directed by Robert Zemeckis aka the guy responsible for foisting that terrible motion-capture animation from “Beowulf” on us.

    And he’s all like “it’ll be traditional 2D with motion-capture actors!” which is NOT THE POINT. The point of Roger Rabbit is to have 2D characters interacting with HUMANS. The only way I would be okay with this would be if they used it to put Bob Hoskins back in.

    Maybe I’m the only person left who is not impressed by this animation style, but I will resist it until the end.

     
  7. Jacob Peterson

    February 13, 2010 at 11:54 am

    Hey you!! I was in the same situation for about a month, but now I’m rejuvenated and back!! I hope you read my blog once in a while. I understand the feeling of walking through mud with blogging. Hey, did I mention that I am coming back to Oregon for good in like 5 weeks!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
