RSS

haiti

14 Jan

Today I was going to do my second post about animated films in 2010, but I think I’ll push that until Monday.  Honestly, with all the news in Haiti, I just…don’t particularly feel like being funny.

Enough people have put links on their websites.  I don’t think I have to direct you to The Red Cross or Doctors Without Borders.  I will say that from what I understand, Red Cross may not be the best place to donate.  Donating to Red Cross doesn’t ensure that your money will go where you want it to go, or even that it’ll stay out of somebody’s pocket.  If you really want to make a difference, give your money to one  of the many organizations that deals with Haiti directly.  That’ll be your best bet, although keep in mind that sending anything but money will hurt rather than help.

I literally can’t fathom a disaster of this scale.  I’ve read stories in the news, stories about bodies piled in the streets, about survivors trapped beneath buildings, screaming for help.  I’ve read about people in the United States and elsewhere hoping against hope that their parents/brothers/sisters/children/lovers are alive somewhere in the wreckage of Port Au Prince, but none of it is tangible.  I have never been in danger of this magnitude, and the only way I can perceive it as a nightmare: terrible, unreal, fleeting.

My hopes are with the people of Haiti.  These photos (some rather grisly, be warned) will stick with me for awhile, and I’m sure that I’m not the only one.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 14, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “haiti

  1. Rachel

    January 14, 2010 at 11:34 am

    Just a little note about donating to the American Red Cross. Money donated to the ARC goes into an International Response Fund, the more money there the more they can give immediatly when disasters occur. The money in this this fund will go to victims in Haiti, as well as in support of those involved in countless disasters around the world. Also, if a donation is designated by the donor to go to Haiti that’s where it will go.

    But, please, if you’re able to donate at all, please donate where you feel comfortable because it’s the people that matter.

     
    • Jessica

      January 15, 2010 at 9:55 am

      I keep forgetting that you are (or did?) work for the Red Cross! I have read a number of articles lately on their practices, and most end with ‘don’t donate to the Red Cross’, but you also know supremely more about it than I do. I’ll defer to your master judgment. 🙂

       
  2. Rebekah

    January 14, 2010 at 8:38 pm

    I suppose you’ve seen Pat Robertson’s “pact-with-devil/blessing-in-disguise” take on the situation? I don’t know if his heart is missing, or… or what. Desperately hoping no one subscribes to his theories.

     
    • Jessica

      January 15, 2010 at 9:53 am

      There are always morons.

      Or ‘morans’, as it were. There was a famous protesting sign (I don’t even remember what it was protesting!) that said something like, “OBAMA IS A MUSLIM. WAKE UP, MORANS”. Since then, I have always thought of heartless people who are sure they are in the right as ‘morans’.

      That man is a manipulator and an opportunist. If you haven’t watched Jon Stewart’s segment on him from last night’s show, you should definitely go find that. 🙂

       
  3. rubybastille

    January 16, 2010 at 9:49 am

    Red Cross set up a special Haiti-only fund, and I hope in my naive way that the Red Cross isn’t scammy.

     
  4. Vanessa

    January 16, 2010 at 8:42 pm

    This is a great time for everyone to get up the courage to donate blood! You can’t be promised it will help people in Haiti, but I’m sure a lot of donor blood is needed right now, so it can’t hurt. It doesn’t take any of your money to do it– just a bit of time and discomfort, but it’s totally worth knowing you’re helping SOMEONE.

     

Leave a Reply

 
