RSS

apoopcalypse now, part deux

05 Jan

So after I wrote about the Apoopcalypse last week, there were some interesting developments.

First, some good friends of mine came to stay, secondly, 2009 turned in to 2010, and thirdly, the Apoopcalypse has ended as mysteriously as it began.

Well, not so mysteriously.

On Saturday morning, when my friends were packing up their sleeping bags and hairspray and contact solution, I overheard two of them bickering.

“Take it out to the car, Mary.”

“I don’t want to!  There’s a guy out there!”

I went and looked out the window, and, lo and behold, there was a guy trimming that villainous bush that I mentioned on Thursday.  He was eagerly clipping away, while his girlfriend shoveled poop out of our corner of the yard.  I poked my head out the door.

“Good morning!” I said.  “Doing a little yardwork?”

“Oh, hi!” The guy shouldered his clippers and scratched under his baseball cap.  “Yeah, I’ve just been cooped up in the house for awhile, y’know?  I wanted to get out, and I keep seeing you walking through the mud in your nice work shoes, and I thought I would just do a little clipping so you could use your walkway.”

I blinked at him.

“That’s really nice,” I said.

“Yeah, don’t mention it!”  He resettled his baseball cap and began clipping again.  I goggled at him.

“Like, really,” I said.  “It’s really nice.  I really appreciate it.”

“No problem.”

“Thanks a lot.”

“Sure.”

“I really appreciate it.”

“Glad to help.”

I stared at him for another moment, and then I went back inside.

I was unused to this phenomenon, these…nice neighbors, and now I am feeling suddenly nervous that maybe they read my blog!  Maybe they think I don’t like them!  Maybe they overheard me grumbling my way through the yard, picking around steaming piles of disruption and thought I was being a Grumpy McSnipeypants.

I am trying to just be grateful that they did something sweet and fixed a problem I was having, but this feeling is somewhat overridden by the feminine instinct that screams, “SOMEBODY HAS AN OPINION ABOUT YOOOOU”.

In other news, I have finally started going to the gym, after all the fuss I made several months ago.  I had to wait until I had proper running shoes, see, but now I am going.  I feel somewhat like a freshwater fish in the sea, but I am slowly learning not to thoroughly embarrass myself.  Thus far I have broken a paper towel dispenser and accidently hurled my IPod into a window.

For me, this is a pretty good track record.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 5, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “apoopcalypse now, part deux

  1. lisa

    January 5, 2010 at 12:06 pm

    Or maybe you should chalk the end of the apoopcalypse up to the power of good stylish shoes! He did say that he felt bad for you having to walk through that minefield in your snazzy footwear. *sigh* Never underestimate the power of a good shoe.

    Happy New Year!

     
  2. rubybastille

    January 6, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    Ha. “Track” record. 😀

    Also, it is awesome that the ginormous bush thing is trimmed, but I have a totally brilliant plan for the poop. You know in movies when they’re solving a mystery using strings connecting items to locations on a map? You do the same thing only with piles of poop and people’s doors. Doesn’t matter if it’s really their dog’s poop or not – it just lets them know that THEY ARE A SUSPECT.

     
    • Jessica

      January 6, 2010 at 1:27 pm

      HAHA! That is absolutely AMAZING.

       

Leave a Reply

 
