RSS

bidoof uses captivate

21 Dec

So, you guys, I think you know that I like Pokemon.

Several years ago I would have probably admitted this only through torture, but I find that the longer you play Pokemon, the less likelihood you will be embarrased by it, a phenomenon that can be expressed in the following graph:

As you can see, the more Pokemon I play, the less regard I have for my reputation. It's science.

My flagrant love for Pokemon (which I once heard described as Darwin meets cockfighting) was only exacerbated by a recent Facebook trend-thing.  Apparently in December, all of the cool kids change their profile pictures to Pokemon.  Brittney suggested that we have a battle, on Facebook, with our Pokemon profile pictures, but I was slow to the punch, and Brittney changed her picture back to a human face before I could initiate a fight.

I wouldn’t be surprised if her boyfriend, Damien, labels me as a bad influence.

What follows is a work of art that Mozart would have shed tears over.

When I am old, a grandmother on her death bed with her grandchildren crowding around with reverent tears spilling down their washed face, they will ask me with trembling voices, “But Grandmother, what was it all for? What did you achieve in life?”

And I, with a feebly shaking finger, will point to a framed picture on the wall, with a series of Facebook wall posts beneath the shining glass.

My grandchildren will nod solemnly, and I will die a completed woman.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on December 21, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

8 responses to “bidoof uses captivate

  1. Winona

    December 21, 2009 at 11:45 am

    Hahahaha I love you guys.

     
  2. Brittney

    December 21, 2009 at 11:46 am

    hahahaahhaa this is soo awesome! 😀 The sad thing is that Damien changed his userpic too, and it apparently didn’t show up on your computer. Dang.

    But yes! We are so epic! Our grandchildren are gonna LOVE us!!

     
  3. Vanessa

    December 21, 2009 at 11:49 am

    I’m stopping by purely to tell you guys that you’re awesome, since I already had the pleasure of reading this on Facebook when you guys first did it. It’s still just as impressive, though.

     
  4. Rebekah

    December 21, 2009 at 1:05 pm

    In an elementary school class this week, all the kids were assigned to listen to a piece of music and draw pictures of whatever the music evoked from the depths of their soul.

    The little boy in the Pokemon shirt drew a fleet of Mews. Christmas music reminds him of Mews.

    I smiled.

     
  5. Jen

    December 22, 2009 at 1:13 am

    How did I miss this exchange?!? 😀

     
  6. Anonymous

    December 22, 2009 at 2:07 am

    I love you both. I definately plan on using this post to weed out the men with no sense of humor, or aren’t cool enough.

     
  7. James

    December 22, 2009 at 3:24 am

    I am so very grateful Facebook allows for chains of postings that long. This post made me laugh more than anything else has for at least a week.

     
  8. Sarah-Rose

    December 22, 2009 at 12:35 pm

    Seriously, seriously funny.

     

Leave a Reply

 
