RSS

ode to a moste detestable foe

09 Nov

Hi, all!

A solid post will be coming later tonight, possibly with the help of Laura from Ruby Bastille. In the mean time, here is a poem composed about the Coverbind machine in our office.

WHERE MY SECRETARIES AT.

Ode To A Moste Detestable Foe


Coverbind Machine, O Coverbind Machine,

Your cruel and cold mechanical gleam

Makes my insides twist and scream!

How I hate you, Coverbind Machine.

To dispel my deep and driving ire,

I’d ask you kindly to retire

Then to build a funeral pyre

And please to go die in a fire.

They tell me that you bind reports

If I may offer my retort

If you do what you purport

Then pigs can fly and I’m not short.

All you do is chew up pages!

Mucking up my tasks in stages!

Like a foe, your work engages

All my deepest wildest rages.

Coverbind, I hate your face.

My hatred transcends time and place.

Watch your back, sir, just in case.

Say, have you seen Office Space?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 9, 2009 in Life

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “ode to a moste detestable foe

  1. Vanessa

    November 9, 2009 at 12:03 pm

    This rules. End of comment.

     
  2. Christine@ The Dishy

    November 9, 2009 at 4:10 pm

    I hate office equipment. Where does it get off?

     
  3. James

    November 10, 2009 at 1:50 am

    Almost Seussian, except for the more macabre elements. Absolutely delightful, especially the use of “I hate your face”. And I haven’t seen Office Space: should I?

    I never learned about odes. Are there rules, like a sonnet? To Google, away!

     

Leave a Reply

 
