RSS

spooktacular

26 Oct

Well, it is Halloween Week and fall is in full swing.  I love driving this time of year, especially in Oregon where the sky is blue and the trees are sobbing red leaves on to the sidewalks.  Houses are decked out with plastic witches are carved pumpkins.  People are walking around with pink cheeks and  the sort of bright, brisk energy that comes from the chill in the air and the constant threat of rain.

In addition to the natural qualities the world takes on in the week around The Witching Hour, there is also some high quality television.

Every year I get oddly excited about all of the ‘fright weeks’ on TV before Halloween, and not because I’m a fan of the typical horror film.  Actually, I’m pretty cowardly when it comes to scary movies.  Especially zombie movies, hughghghghg.  I don’t enjoy being scared.  I spend the nights after I see a scary movie with the lights on, following Taylor from room to room and studiously not sleeping in case the goblins/murderers/inbred psychopaths/yetis come out.

But for all that, friends, there are many movies that profess to be scary, and simply are not. They live on the Syfy Channel, on AMC, on the ever-loathed ABC Family, and now is the perfect time to catch them. Movies like the original Alien (a chiller, sure, but not a horror flick per se) or Teen Wolf, or the endless Stephen King adaptations.  There’s plenty of Halloween television fare that satisfies that innate craving for eeriness without being outright horrifying, and I love it all.

How about you?  Do you have a favorite tame Halloween flick?  Or are you the sort that demands unadulterated scares this time of year?

 
7 Comments

Posted by on October 26, 2009 in Life

 

Tags: , , , ,

7 responses to “spooktacular

  1. lisa

    October 26, 2009 at 10:16 am

    My brother always gets strangely excited about seeing It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown on cable TV.

     
  2. Laura

    October 26, 2009 at 10:42 am

    Disney Channel had some good ones, too…I think the only time I saw Hocus Pocus was on the Disney Channel.

     
  3. Sarah-Rose

    October 26, 2009 at 8:08 pm

    My favourite scary-but-not movie? Rosemary’s Baby!
    I’m not a big fan of scary movies in general but the one that I find I can only watch during the day (still) is The Shining.

    Unrelated – I caught a snippet of Nightmare on Elm St on tv the other day & couldn’t help but laugh at how ridiculous & not scary it was. I sent a message to someone I know who is … 8 (perhaps 9) years older than me and he confirmed that AT THE TIME it was TERRIFYING. Hee.

     
  4. Kitty

    October 27, 2009 at 2:53 am

    Hocus Pocus! That is some fantastic character acting right there. LOVE IT! Oh! And the Disney Fantasia Cartoon, or at least the scene with the devil and all the flying ghosts which always pops up this time of year. OH! ANd the cartoon with the dancing skeletons! Classic!

     
    • rubybastille

      October 27, 2009 at 9:22 pm

      Dude, that devil scene was genuinely freaky. But it always made the Ave Maria sequence afterward too boring…I think I finally sat through the whole thing when I got curious and watched it again a few months ago.

       
  5. Jacob Peterson

    October 27, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    This makes me miss you even more than I already do!!!

     
  6. Erin @ Fierce Beagle

    November 3, 2009 at 8:10 am

    I just made the hubs watch Hocus Pocus with me. Strangely, it was not as creepy as I remembered it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
