RSS

ch-ch-ch-changes

12 Oct

In the wake of current events, as I wade through the seeping tide of Things I Have Felt Lately, I feel that it is only appropriate that I start making some goals to anchor myself.  This blog will serve as an avenue for said goals, and ya’ll are free to hold me accountable to my ever-liquid ambitions.

  1. Post here at least twice a week.  For awhile I was looking at posting three times a week, but I figure I’ll step this up slowly.  Hopefully Mondays and Thursdays.  That’s the plan, with extras occurring when something worth mentioning happens.
  2. Talk about things I want to talk about.  I have struggled a great deal deciding what it is that I want to say here.  When Internet Folk make their lists of Top Ten Or Five Or Whatever Tips For Blogging one of them is always ‘write what you’re passionate about’.  And what am I passionate about?  I’ve tried to be passionate about lots of things the internet likes.  Fashion.  Cats.  Lists.  Ultimately, though, I’ve only managed a mild enthusiasm for any of these things.  In the end, my friends, I am passionate about one thing.  One childish, slightly embarrassing thing, and that thing is Kid Culture.  Cartoons.  Action Figures.  Comics, and I don’t mean that artsy shit about lonely people being lonely in misty cities full of espresso shops and irony.  I mean good old fashioned Ninja Turtles and Ben Ten and Powerpuff Girls.  I don’t know if anybody here wants to hear about these things, but I’m excited to write about it, so I might as well try.  This doesn’t mean that I’ll quit talking about our terrible apartment and the people I’m jealous of at worse.  I’m just going to also talk about the ways I spend my Saturday mornings, too.
  3. Learn to improve the proportions in my numbered lists.
  4. Figure out how to increase my readership.  Not that I don’t love you people, you glorious people who come here to see what I say and add your hello in the comments, but the goal of every writer is to be read by as many people as possible.  I haven’t done much work to find new readers, and I think that it’s time that I start.

There.  I won’t lie, goals make me nervous.  They’re too easy to miss, and I don’t have the best luck with them, but I have to try something sometime.  I am going to cross my fingers, put my nose to the grindstone, and hope for the best.

Thanks for sticking with me, people.  See you on Thursday.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on October 12, 2009 in Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “ch-ch-ch-changes

  1. Sarah-Rose

    October 12, 2009 at 8:55 pm

    I’m looking forward to hearing more from you!

     
  2. Vanessa

    October 12, 2009 at 10:11 pm

    I think it’s amazing that you classified “cats” as something the internet is interested in. It’s so true and kind’ve obvious, but I guess I never actively thought about how much the internet loves cats specifically. Now that I have, it amuses me even more.

     
  3. Sal

    October 13, 2009 at 8:22 am

    Rock on, lady. Goals make me nervous, too, since I usually fail to achieve them in my preferred timeframe. Yours sound completely reasonable. As for increasing traffic, it’s arbitrary, but plunking your site into alphainventions.com will give you a bit of a boost. I do it several times per day myself.

     
    • saturdayjane

      October 13, 2009 at 8:39 am

      Ooh, thanks for the advice, Sal! Much appreciated!

       
  4. lisa

    October 13, 2009 at 10:42 am

    Good luck with your goals! When I made my New Year’s resolutions, I posted them on my blog and it helped me stick to them. Here’s hoping that taking your goals public will help you do the same.

     
  5. Vanessa

    October 15, 2009 at 8:31 am

    BTW, I forgot to mention, I’m finding Google Analytics really helpful when it comes to gauging my audience and trying to expand it. You can look up your top content (since one of my top posts is about eye jewelry, I am now thinking about doing more postings on unusual piercings), what people search to get to your blog, and the ways they get there (hint: Twitter about posts! That seems to be helping me), as well as a lot of other cool stuff.

    Another thing Google Analytics has shown me? The true importance of commenting on other people’s blogs. I used to be a bit of a lurker, but when you really look at the numbers, you find that a lot of people are probably finding your blog in another blog’s blogroll or by curiously scrolling through comments.

     
    • saturdayjane

      October 15, 2009 at 9:42 am

      That’s all good advice, friend! I do need to be better about actually commenting. It is a HUGE thing! 🙂 I think WordPress has functions that are just like Google Analytics…I find myself somewhat addicted to those!

       
  6. Kitty

    October 18, 2009 at 1:57 pm

    You should join a group like SITS. Google it! Or go to my site and click the button. Seriously, my subscribers doubled!

     

Leave a Reply

 
