RSS

wrath of the queen

27 Sep

Internet, maybe you can enlighten me, because I am confused.

When did the Wife become the Enemy?

I was browsing webcomics (as I am wont to do every ten minutes) and a banner ad caught my eye.  It was ‘The Adventures of Khaki Pants Pete’, a sprite game that advertised the levels in glowing Windows Word Art.  “Play guitar and don’t wake the wife!” it said.  “Sit closer to the pretty lady?  She is the babysitter!” it said.

I felt my face screw up into the sort of frown that’s going to give me premature wrinkles.

It seems that in our culture, as soon as a man puts a ring on a woman’s finger, she becomes The Foe.  Her one purpose in life is assumed to be bringing her poor husband down.  He, who only wants to watch a football game in peace!  Who only wants to ogle hotter, younger women without a wizened shrew screaming into his ear.  Who only wants to eat some steaks and drink some beers with his buddies without The Cruel Old Bitch demanding that he eat salads with her and watch movies starring Diane Keaton.

These are the natural things that modern men want, of course, and it is terrible of Wives in general to demand other of them.

Tell me, Internet, where is this coming from?  Movies?  TV?  Rap songs about various ‘shorties’ and their clingy ways?  Most of the married people I know have their issues, sure, but they aren’t so black and white.  He doesn’t appreciate the money she makes.  She never pitches in around the house.  He doesn’t like the way she dresses, and she doesn’t like how much he cusses.  There are always challenging aspects to a relationship, but when did the wife become the tyrant?

What do you think?

 
11 Comments

Posted by on September 27, 2009 in Life

 

Tags: , , , ,

11 responses to “wrath of the queen

  1. Ken Kendall

    September 27, 2009 at 11:28 am

    I don’t know how that happened either. But I do know that we all have to change the way things are in modern marriage. This divorce thing has got to be curbed.

    I write a blog about how men can better love their wives. Check it out if you have a minute.

    http://whatsheneedsfromyou.wordpress.com

    Thanks,

     
  2. lisa

    September 28, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    Well put.

     
  3. Jerry

    September 28, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    I don’t know where it came from, but it’s from the same place that you get glorifications of the bachelor lifestyle and the insistence that men need not grow up.

    Also, I checked into this “Khaki Pants Pete” thing, and it’s an advertisement for…. (drumroll please)

    KLONDIKE BARS.

    Thank you, Klondike. I will be buying the cheap knockoffs from here on out.

     
  4. amanda

    September 28, 2009 at 11:49 pm

    I don’t think it’s so much “when did the wife become the tyrant” as when did men become such whiny babies, intent on remaining young bros and refusing to grow up?

    Ah, there I go, acting the shrew. (Really, though, they’re two sides of the same coin, no? I blame the boomers.)

     
  5. James

    September 29, 2009 at 1:20 am

    This “wife = nagging shrew” thing probably happened about the same time as the father became the bumbling idiot, without a shred of integrity or any IQ of which to speak (e.g. just about any sitcom you care to name).

     
  6. Jacob Peterson

    September 29, 2009 at 3:42 am

    Women are the enemy….period!!! Okay, I’m just kidding. I mean, its not like most men are going to take the alternative route to marriage and just live/marry a best friend!!! How about a little respect for your girl!!!

     
  7. K

    September 29, 2009 at 9:21 am

    Conservatives call this “too much feminism” where women turn into monsters once they are given autonomy.
    *sigh*

    This book explains the real issue very well, I think- http://www.amazon.com/Guyland-Perilous-World-Where-Become/dp/0060831340

    I have yet to see my relationships or those of my friends follow this pattern. Thank god.

     
  8. Sarah-Rose

    October 1, 2009 at 12:19 pm

    Sigh.
    If only I knew!
    As a non-nagging wife (or so I like to think!) with a non-idiot, non-bumbling husband I try to fight fight fight against these stereotypes.
    I fear that if we buy into them then we become them.

     
  9. sarah

    October 2, 2009 at 12:37 pm

    reminds me of this kind of thing:

    http://www.peterpappas.com/docs/lesson13/13-9.htm

    a lot of the other stuff there is worthwhile too..

    http://www.peterpappas.com/docs/lesson13/index.htm

    anyway, it’s been like this for a LONG time, in some form or another.

     
  10. Vanessa

    October 2, 2009 at 1:36 pm

    This is a very true observation. I’m not exactly sure, but it makes me think a lot about comedians. Whenever comedians talk about marriage (especially male comedians) they describe it as OMG HORRIBLE WHERE IS THE WOMAN I MARRIED I AM SO MISERABLE. It kind of gives an expectation that when you marry someone, you stop enjoying them. However, I feel like if you marry someone you’re truly FRIENDS with, this isn’t something to worry about. It’s a big debate that I bet someone could write a giant thesis about.

     
  11. knowoneyouknow

    July 7, 2010 at 10:01 am

    It happens when idiots get married to each other. Idiots should not marry or breed. But I guess people like to watch idiots on sitcoms. It makes, them feel better about being a married idiot who breeds.

     

Leave a Reply

 
