RSS

happenings

20 Sep

This past week has been a tremulous sort of waiting period.  Tuesday through Friday I went about my daily business as normal, dressed as Professionally and as Fashionably as I could muster, with the assumption that my Fashion Foe would be around any corner, behind any door, waiting to cast her eyes up and down my outfit with a piercing snort of derision.

But for all of this, Cute Girl did not appear.

I’m not sure whether to consider this a victory or not.  On the one hand, she may have been so impressed by my wardrobe on Monday (I’m not sure she SAW it, but maybe other coworkers had described my visual verve to her with glowing words) that she fled the office, intimidated and destroyed by the electric power of my fashion sense.

Either that or she only works part time and simply hasn’t been in the office in the brief periods where I go from my computer to the fax machine and back.

This is admittedly the more likely option.

Still though, am I supposed to feel as though I have won?  Is this battle on hiatus until I see Cute Girl again?  Have I lost, due to the fact that she doesn’t actually realize we are having a Very Serious War?  I have not yet decided how to feel about this.

In other news, Taylor suggested we watch Speed Racer last night.  My feelings on Speed Racer are absolute.  I could not have been happier if he had suggested we visit his Magical Unicorn Ranch.  “We’ll take my Ferrari,” he’d say.  “The one powered by Skittles and dreams.”

Taylor had never seen Speed racer and so the entire time spent watching was also spent glancing at him to see if he looked appropriately amused, impressed or emotional.  I asked him to sum up his thoughts.

“Uhm…” He grabbed my foot and cracked my toe-knuckles as he thought.  “It was…good?  It was fun.  Worth the eye-bleeding.”

Have you all seen Speed Racer yet?  Go see Speed Racer.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 20, 2009 in Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “happenings

  1. James

    September 21, 2009 at 12:41 am

    That’s actually on the back of the DVD, isn’t it? “Warning: may cause severe eye-bleeding, epilepsy, or the spontaneous combustion of oxygen into awesome.”

    That is one movie that unquestionably justifies the existence of BluRay.

     
  2. Vanessa

    September 21, 2009 at 3:21 pm

    I don’t know how I should feel about the eye-bleeding.

     
  3. Jacob Peterson

    September 22, 2009 at 4:19 am

    If someone is too scared to show up, then you win!! Its the classic rule of sport and competition!! Intimidation and psychological warfare is always a key in winning any battle…. right now, I would put the score tied 1-1, but I think you will get her in the long run!!

    As to speed racer, I have not seen it… the reason? I heard that watching it on my high definition television may cause me to explode…

     

Leave a Reply

 
