RSS

bits and pieces

26 Aug
  • Last night I dreamt that in a brawl with Mexican gangsters, my arm got cut up like a spiral ham by a poison knife.  I was trying to get David Bowie to patch it up while I was participating in a series of races and obstacles he set up to find a sidekick, but we kept getting interrupted by the mutant Mystique who had also gotten cut by a poison knife.  The poison made her think she was a housewife, and she would kill people if they didn’t let her hug them.  I am trying to connect this dream to something, but all I can come up with is the Little Caesar’s pizza I ate that night.
  • People have been keeping my spirits up at work with a series of excellent texts.  Brittney sends me the lyrics to Flight of the Conchords’ ‘Prince Of Parties’, while Tess updates me about the trials of nannying young boys.  Yesterday’s message: “I’ve come to the conclusion that Pokemon early in the morning is too positive.  It’s like rather than being woken up by an alarm clock, I’m being beaten awake by sportsmanship.”
  • I have discovered the use of Pandora, the internet radio site, while I am at work.  This has changed my day entirely.  It has also introduced me to Lily Allen and Mika, who have both enriched my existence.
  • Yesterday I played Mario Kart for the first time in several months.  It was like applying a gentle salve to an open wound.
  • At work, my office has a window with a beautiful view into a common area for all the building’s businesses.  I get to watch people take their lunch breaks and stare morosely into the distance as they eat their prepackaged sandwiches.  Slightly obscured, behind a concrete pillar, is a statue of a beaver.  Because of the angle of this beaver, it is CONSTANTLY STARING AT ME.  More news on this as it develops.
 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 26, 2009 in Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “bits and pieces

  1. lisa

    August 26, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    You’re so lucky you have Pandora! We used to get Pandora in my office until they revamped the network and my IP address began registering as Canadian. 😦

     
  2. sarah

    August 26, 2009 at 5:07 pm

    you should blindfold the beaver, just for fun, when nobody’s looking, and see how long it takes anyone to notice.

     
  3. Kitty

    August 27, 2009 at 3:23 am

    I suggest an elaborate costume for Mr. Beaver. If you have to stare at him all day, he might as well be attractive. I’m sure that Martin over at Daddy-Likey would have some tips.

    Also, WHY THE HELL IS THERE A BEAVER IN YOUR OFFICE!?!?

     
    • saturdayjane

      August 27, 2009 at 5:55 am

      Because I live in Oregon.

      And that’s how we roll.

       

Leave a Reply

 
