RSS

gratefully employed

21 Jul

I’m sorry for the radio silence for a couple days friends.  Life got a little uppity, and it wasn’t pleasant.

For one thing, I lost my video camera on Thursday.  Yes, the video camera that I poured so much pomp and fuss into.  I’m not sure what happened to it, except that it was in my purse, and then it wasn’t, and I can only assume it fell out somewhere.  At this point, it is probably gently washing up on the beach of some Forgotten Island in the Bermuda Triangle.

I will admit that I cried like a spoiled four-year old when I realized that it was gone.  I sat on the couch, grabbed a handful of tissues, and bawled into a pillow.  It felt like some sort of low point.  I was sitting in the middle of my brand new apartment in hundred degree weather, surrounded by boxes that needed to be unpacked and dishes that needed to be done.  I was jobless.  I was nearly broke.  I was tired, I hadn’t been able to write anything in days, and the last special little luxury I got myself before emptying my bank account for adulthood was suddenly gone.

Needless to say, I spent Friday sulking.

On Saturday morning, however, I got an e-mail.  A wonderful e-mail.  An excellent e-mail.  A super-dupular extra-fantabulous bodaciously radical e-mail.  An e-mail that invited me to a job interview on Monday morning.

On Sunday I spent forty minutes picking out an interview outfit, and fretted continuously.  I tried to go to bed early, and spent most of the night staring at the ceiling, going over every potential interview question in my mind.

The interview itself was uneventful.  I met the Boss Lady, who was passionate and serious and knew precisely what she was doing.  I met the woman who’d I be replacing, who was capable and smiley and slightly intimidating in how well she knew her job.

I left, feeling confident.  And today I was offered the job.  And I accepted.

I won’t go into the details of the job.  It’s a lovely position with a lovely company, where I’ll be able to work with driven and successful people and get some valuable experience.  I’ll be able to use graphic design.  I’ll be able to
write everyday, and granted, it’ll be ad writing, but it’s still writing, and that’s special to me.

So I lost a video camera.  Big whoop.  I would rather have a good job than a hundred cameras, and today I really can’t worry about something like that.  In this economy, I found a job that will pay for our apartment, and that will feed us and allow Taylor to keep going to school.

Suffice it to say, today is a better day.

 
18 Comments

Posted by on July 21, 2009 in Life

 

Tags: , , ,

18 responses to “gratefully employed

  1. Brittney

    July 21, 2009 at 10:26 pm

    I’m still super bummed that you lost your little camera. Hopefully it turns up soon. Really! I think it will.

    I’m also SO OMGWTFBBQYAY EXCITED that you got that job! It will be a good thing and an awesome experience to have another job under your belt that doesn’t involve lattes or wearing red shirts. 🙂

     
    • saturdayjane

      July 22, 2009 at 8:12 pm

      I am SO excited that this job has nothing to do with lattes or red shirts. I can wear Real Clothes to this job. I am excited to be fashionable.

       
  2. K

    July 21, 2009 at 10:46 pm

    YAY JOB! Congratulations!

     
    • saturdayjane

      July 22, 2009 at 8:12 pm

      THANKS! 😀

       
  3. kage

    July 22, 2009 at 8:45 am

    Congrats on the job! Writing and design every day….sounds pretty sweet to me!

     
    • saturdayjane

      July 22, 2009 at 8:12 pm

      I’m pretty pumped about it! Thanks, darling!

       
  4. Sal

    July 22, 2009 at 9:25 am

    Oh doll, thank GOODNESS. I mean, not that the camera is lost, of course, but my gawd, a JOB! HURRAH!!!

     
    • saturdayjane

      July 22, 2009 at 8:12 pm

      Seriously, right? Thanks for the well wishes!

       
  5. lisa

    July 22, 2009 at 11:52 am

    Congratulations on the job!

     
    • saturdayjane

      July 22, 2009 at 8:12 pm

      Thanks so much, Lisa!

       
  6. Jacob Peterson

    July 22, 2009 at 11:56 am

    Congrats friend… Way better than my job!!! I hope you find your camera…. It will probably show up somewhere ridiculous… Checked the fridge?

     
    • saturdayjane

      July 22, 2009 at 8:15 pm

      Oh, man, I checked EVERYWHERE. Even the FREEZER.

      Also, I couldn’t say that my job is better than yours! I would be pretty terrible at teaching people to work out! It’s a matter of perception, I think.

       
  7. Sarah-Rose

    July 22, 2009 at 3:37 pm

    Congratulations on the job! especially getting a writing job (of any ilk) in this recession.
    Annnnd of course the job will help with the replacing of the video camera!

     
    • saturdayjane

      July 22, 2009 at 8:16 pm

      I sure hope so! Thanks, Sarah-Rose! 🙂

       
  8. James

    July 22, 2009 at 4:20 pm

    Congratulations! Good work finding something in these lean times. I hope that video camera miraculously turns up somewhere.

     
    • saturdayjane

      July 22, 2009 at 8:16 pm

      Thanks, friend! I hope that camera turns up, too. We’ll see.

       
  9. rubybastille

    July 23, 2009 at 12:19 pm

    YEAAAAAAAAAH JOB you should email me these things so I don’t find out three days later. 😦 Congratulations!!!

     
    • saturdayjane

      July 23, 2009 at 7:23 pm

      Oops! I thought I had told you, sorry! I kind of went on a flurry of ‘telling’, and I guess I left you out. 😦 😦 :(. This is why you need to come live in Corvallis.

       

Leave a Reply

 
