RSS

gestalt

13 Jul

A few days ago I found a gift card that I had lost, a gift card to my favorite art store with sixty dollars on it.

Friends, I don’t think I have to tell you that as a creative writing major just out of school with a new apartment and a lack of a job, I do not exactly have a Scrooge McDuck style moneybin to swim in.  I haven’t painted for myself in more than a year, due to the cost of supplies (and uh some amount of laziness).  But finding that giftcard, that was better than finding a winning lotto ticket, better than discovering your oven spawns french fries, better than finding shoes that inexplicably make your butt look like a sculpted work of art.  So I took that giftcard to the art store today and found four beautiful 24×36 inch canvases, each on mega-clearance, and now they are home with me.

I have yet to decide exactly what to do with them.  I plan on using them to fill our bare white walls with some color and flash, with something beautiful, but what is beautiful?  Should I paint a picture picture?  Do simple bright squares in yellow or green?  Minimalist pieces with a single speck of black in each corner?

What would you paint, or what would you like to have a painting of?

 
7 Comments

Posted by on July 13, 2009 in Life

 

Tags: ,

7 responses to “gestalt

  1. mike

    July 13, 2009 at 11:52 pm

    pretty nice post, I hope that gift card never lost

     
  2. sarah

    July 14, 2009 at 7:31 am

    i always love paintings of circles and circular-type things. like, ideally, a cluster of bubbles with their iridescence, or overexposed streetlights so you can only see the radiating stabby points of light and the halo around the middle. but, you know, that’s just me.

    also, if you feel like it, you should link in your sidebar to chris’ blog, “The Science of the Concrete,” which is at gtrabbit.wordpress.com. he updates a lot more than i do, on very interesting stuff.

     
    • saturdayjane

      July 14, 2009 at 6:05 pm

      Oh, I like the idea of circles, or even basic geometric shapes. Always elegant, and one can soften nearly any shape, I think, with the way they do color and lines.

      Great idea!

       
  3. Sal

    July 14, 2009 at 10:29 am

    What luck! I’m so glad that gift card turned up. I think you should paint your future, in the form of a symbol. I bought some pastels and paper when I moved to Mpls and just drew stuff. The main symbol I concocted, a big green growth symbol, is now tattooed on my right leg.

     
    • saturdayjane

      July 14, 2009 at 6:06 pm

      A personal symbol? What a neat idea! I had never thought of that! I will be taking out my sketchpad and doodling some thoughts tonight.

      Possibly some variant of a badger in a field. 🙂

       
  4. rubybastille

    July 15, 2009 at 10:05 am

    Do the thing! With the water balloons! And the paint and the darts! And the totally modernist splashes that obviously represent the torment of a soul suffocated under the conformity of our progressive society and has nothing whatsoever to do with the satisfaction of throwing darts at balloons full of paint.

     
    • saturdayjane

      July 15, 2009 at 10:10 am

      Ah! That sounds way fun! The only thing that would stop me is the severe expense of paint htese days. 😦

       

Leave a Reply

 
