RSS

fervent desires

07 Jul

I have a desperate dream to be a hat person.

Not many people are hat people. Brittney? Of Lemon Love? Is a hat person, an I hate her for this. I suspect that my former roommate Tess is a hat person as well, although she so rarely wears them that I have yet to test this hypothesis. I have been tempted, while Tess is asleep on the couch, to gingerly place a newsboy cap on her Irish head just to quietly prove my theory.

It isn’t creepy if it’s for science.

Anyway, my hat cravings are not for just any old hats. I’m not interested in cowboy hats or baseball caps or those Tiny Tim affairs that got popular again about ten years ago. Or maybe I just thought they got popular. I never assume these things.

I would specifically like to be able to wear crocheted or knitted baggy berets/beanies/tam hats. I don’t mean baggy like use-it-to-hide-your-unwashed-dreadlocks-during-the-day baggy, or even think-it-would-be-cool-to-like-pull-your-wallet-out-of-it baggy. I’m talking about those hats that tall, twiggy girls wear with their slouchy boots and long dresses on the way to the Whole Foods in November. I desperately, desperately want to wear that sort of hat.

The problem with this is that I am neither tall nor twiggy. In fact, I suspect that these hats might look rather atrocious on a hobbit. Still, I can’t help but dream about them.

Internet, do you have any experience with these hats? I have been coveting them in places like Btrflymom’s shop on Etsy and on fashion blogs all across the blogosphere, and I am beginning to wonder if maybe it would be worth it to just buy on.

Also, can anyone tell me what the hell a snood is?

 
20 Comments

Posted by on July 7, 2009 in Life

 

Tags: , , ,

20 responses to “fervent desires

  1. Jena

    July 7, 2009 at 1:28 am

    I’ve found that you’re either a hat person or a glasses/sunglasses person. Unfortunately I, as a hat person, of course had to start wearing glasses at the age of five. I don’t know if I could pull off the kind of hat you’re talking about though.

    Also a snood is a tube of fuzzy knit thing that stretches. That’s the only way to describe it. You can wear it either as a scarf by just wrapping it around your neck the normal way or you can stick your head into it and make it into a hood thing or scarf with no ends. I have one. I got it in Ashland. The was The Thing To Have when I was in middle school.

     
    • saturdayjane

      July 7, 2009 at 10:15 am

      Ahhh, so THAT is a snood! I somehow remember those a bit. I think I’ll avoid anything that was in at the same time that those tiny stretchy shirts were in. Snoods are out.

       
  2. gtrabbit

    July 7, 2009 at 6:31 am

    i think you could wear those hats, the baggy ones. the tighter beanies are problematic, they really do only look good on very specific people with very specific (usually tiny) heads. the other ones i think look good as long as you have long enough hair for it to poke out from under it some.

     
    • gtrabbit

      July 7, 2009 at 6:32 am

      by the way. this is sarah. gtrabbit is chris.

       
      • saturdayjane

        July 7, 2009 at 10:14 am

        Yes, the tighter beanies always make me look like a cultist or something like that. Maybe I should grow my hair long again just for the sake of The Hat? My problem is that I want my hair to ‘gently wave’ when it’s long, and it’s just completely stock straight. πŸ™‚

         
  3. Sal

    July 7, 2009 at 6:57 am

    Do it. Buy one. It’s worth $25 to find out, no?

     
    • saturdayjane

      July 7, 2009 at 10:13 am

      I am starting to think it IS worth it enough! Ooh, twenty five isn’t that much, is it? πŸ˜€

       
  4. Kitty

    July 7, 2009 at 8:43 am

    OK, obviously a healthy justification is needed here… If you buy it, you will no longer have to worry about whether or not you should. If it looks awesome on you, you’ll be thrilled. If you do end up looking like a hobbit, (which I for one can not imagine) at least you’ll be a WARM hobbit. Gotta have a winter hat, no?

     
    • saturdayjane

      July 7, 2009 at 10:12 am

      This is true! Since it’s a winter hat, I can wait until I can afford it a bit better. Thank you for the validation!

       
  5. rubybastille

    July 7, 2009 at 10:40 am

    I think hats depend more on hair length/style than body type. They are sort of co-dependent. But I think those drapy knitted ones with the brims would be cute on you. Maybe not the ones with the giant flowers, though.

    Also a snood (if my memory from my days with American Girls serves me correctly) is a sort of net thing that contains your hair shower-cap-style. It covers the back of your head up to about where a headband would rest.

     
    • saturdayjane

      July 7, 2009 at 10:44 am

      Bleh. It does not sound like snoods are for me. I am quickly deciding to try one of these drapy knitted hats, though. Possibly i can convince somebody to make one for me. πŸ™‚

       
  6. lisa

    July 7, 2009 at 10:40 am

    I think you should go to a hat store (or at least Urban Outfitters) and try on lots of hats to experiment. Report back with pictures. πŸ˜€

     
    • saturdayjane

      July 7, 2009 at 10:43 am

      Ha! I accept this mission! I believe there is an exceptional hat store on the Oregon coast. A good excuse to get to the beach.

       
  7. amanda

    July 7, 2009 at 1:02 pm

    Tams are FANTASTIC. I’ve found that they’re pretty universally flattering, too. I mean, I’m fun-sized with curly hair that doubles the size of my head and slouchy tams look great on me. The key is to leave some hair out, framing your face so you don’t get that crunchy, unwashed, dirty dread-holder look.
    Try out different gauges and levels of slouchiness — it’s more about your head/face shape rather than your actual body type.

     
    • saturdayjane

      July 7, 2009 at 2:22 pm

      Ooh, good tip. I’ll remember the hair thing. I am jealous of your curly hair, by the way. I’ve always dreamed of curly hair. It sounds like trying on lots of tams would be the way to go! πŸ™‚

       
  8. Vanessa

    July 7, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    Those etsy hats are gorgeous. I don’t consider myself a hat person, but now I want one of those hats. I suggest that you just go into a store that sells similar hats some time this winter and just try them on. Try on any hat you like, and if you find one that looks awesome, buy it. Simple as that.

     
    • saturdayjane

      July 7, 2009 at 8:47 pm

      I am tempted to do just that! I haven’t visited a ‘hat store’ on a serious ‘hatting expedition’ for a long time. It’s sounding like more and more of a good idea!

       
  9. Brittney

    July 8, 2009 at 9:25 pm

    Um honey, I hate to break it to you, but I am most definetly NOT a hat person! 99% of all hats look seriously stupid on me, or make me look like a cancer patient! But thank you. ❀

    And also, I totally want to be able to wear hats like that too. Or a hat like Kirsten Dunst wears at the end of Elizabethtown.

     
    • saturdayjane

      July 8, 2009 at 10:08 pm

      B-b-but I have SEEN them on you! I HAVE SEEN THEM.

      I’ve never seen Elizabethtown. A tragedy?

       
      • Brittney

        July 9, 2009 at 3:30 pm

        Elizabethtown is one of those movies that tries really, really hard. It’s not really sure just WHAT it’s trying to be, but damnit, it makes an effort. Half of it is a really cute run-of-the-mill quirky romantic comedy and the other half is a story about a dude who has lost his life and his father coming to terms with failure.

        So… I dunno if you’d like it. There aren’t any explosions, but there are a number of cute Old South Family scenes, which I know you’d appreciate. We’ll watch it sometime.

        Yeahhh I have like 2 hats that look good on me, and I never ever wear them out of the house. No lie.

         

Leave a Reply

 
