RSS

a very specific difference

30 Jun

Aaaaand now I’m back in my parent’s house.

After spending a ‘practice’ few days in the new apartment (during which we caught TEN moths in the moth traps.  this is just the beginning, moths) we are going camping with my folks.

My folks are…well.  My friends have called us ‘hillbillies’ even though I grew up in suburbia, and it’s true that I have some hillbillian tendencies.  These are fully carried over from my parents’ youths in North Eastern Oregon, land of grouse huntin’, trout fishin’, and a multitude of other things that rarely end in ‘g’.  Our house is a study of affluent redneckisms.  We have many nice lamps, and we keep a shotgun by the front door.  We drive a Prius and a tractor.  On the porch we have a lovely bag of golf clubs right next to a lovely pile of cobwebby wrenches.  It’s the sort of thing that never really occurred to me growing up, but once I went to college and became exposed to a number of people that had never beat a fish to death on a rock I started to realize that my upbringing was a little more rooted in the country than I had realized.

Part of my upbringing were yearly trips out to the Imnaha river in North Eastern Oregon.  For a week every summer we would go to a very specific campsite and shoot cans and cook steak and wade through creeks that were so cold they’d turn your toes blue –

“I kind of don’t like that you call us hillbillies,” my mother says.  She is sitting next to me and I just read the previous passages to her and my father.

“Should I take it out?” I ask her.  “That’s why I read it to you.”

“Well, I don’t…I mean, my parents both went to college.”

“You could call us mountain folk,” My father pipes in.

“I’ll just record the conversation,” I tell them.  My mother chuckles and rolls her eyes a bit.  Oh, that kid and her blog.  I type for a couple of minutes.

“In fact,” my father continues, after a few moments of silence, “Eastern Oregon State University is the Mountaineers.”

“A mountaineer is much different than a hillbilly,” my mother says.  There is a note of disdain there.  Possibly some unexplored wound.

And she reads the passage and smacks me on the shoulder.

“There is no wound,” she insists.  “Just insult.”

My shoulder hurts.

I ought to tell the state.

Now that I’ve spent the majority of the post talking about our hi…mountaineer roots, I’ll just end it here.  I’ll save the camping stories for later.  The video camera is possibly coming with me, so there may be some forest dancing on the site when I get back.  We’ll be leaving tomorrow night, extra late, and driving through the night to get there early Thursday morning.  Hopefully we’ll beat the crowds.

Any fourth of July plans for you all?

 
17 Comments

Posted by on June 30, 2009 in Life

 

Tags: , , ,

17 responses to “a very specific difference

  1. Vanessa

    June 30, 2009 at 11:33 pm

    Ooo I hope you have fun camping! I haven’t been camping since practically forever. I don’t know why I actually feel like I need to go again sometime soon; I hate bugs. My plans for the fourth so far are not as exciting as camping, but will include watching fireworks and playing on swings with my boyfriend. Afterward, we’ll probably go home and try to finish playing through Gears of War on “insane” like good American patriots.

    This is completely unrelated to this post (since I’ve been internetz MIA for the past few days), but I wanted to say that a) I loved your apartment boogie, you’re adorable, and b) did you SEE what your related videos on Youtube are? They include videos like “Pika Pika Yukai,” something about Billy Mays’ death, and one intriguingly called “PDX Unicycle meets bagpipe.” I’m really curious about that last one.

     
    • saturdayjane

      July 1, 2009 at 5:53 pm

      Swings and bloody monster-infested video games are an excellent way to spend the holiday.

      Heh, honestly, those video results are better than the first one that came up for me, namely, the National Pole Dancing Championships. I am partially offended, but it is hard to watch those girls for long without wondering what kind of butt workout they got going.

       
  2. Kitty

    July 1, 2009 at 7:48 am

    You have beat a fish to death with a rock!? Wow, you’re hard core. Remind me not to mess with you. In fact, I just go ahead and thanks you again for the lovely award you bestowed upon me, and note that I said some very nice things about you in my post… Ok. Backing away slowly.

     
    • saturdayjane

      July 1, 2009 at 6:09 pm

      This is how you stun them, so that you can keep them alive in the water so that they will be fresh while you continue fishing without them getting away or flopping all over the place. It is a fine line between knocking them out or killing them though. 😉

       
  3. Sal

    July 1, 2009 at 8:39 am

    Sigh. I WISH I could go camping this weekend. Husband Mike has decided he is camping averse, despite only camping ONCE. And it really wasn’t that bad. Didn’t even rain!

     
    • saturdayjane

      July 1, 2009 at 6:11 pm

      Camping averse? I still have problems with this concept. It’s the OUTDOORS! it’s BEAUTIFUL! You fish and read and hike and it’s lovely.

      The lack of showering is a bit disconcerting however.

       
  4. Sarah-Rose

    July 1, 2009 at 3:31 pm

    I remember the first time I went with a friend to her family’s bach on a …. uh … acre? hectare? section of land in the middle of nowhere. Catching …. uh … teeny crafish type things? in a creek. I don’t think I’d even worn gumboots since I was a small small child.
    It was about then (age 11) when I got the idea that I was kind of a city/suburbs kind of girl. That was solidified when, age 23, I had to herd sheep and burst into tears. They terrified me and all I had to do was wave my arms around and uh. Traumatic.

    I like parks just fine! grass and trees and birds (alive and unaimed at) and stuff. It’s the WILDERNESS that creeps me out.

     
    • saturdayjane

      July 1, 2009 at 6:14 pm

      Herding sheep? Good gracious! That would make me cry, too, but I’m not hugely experienced with sheep. Everything I hve heard about your homeland of New Zealand tells me that where there are not hobbits, there are sheep. So you SHOULD have experience with them, I guess!

      That and hobbits.

       
  5. Brittney

    July 1, 2009 at 9:50 pm

    I can explain the PDX unicycler thing–I might have posted this video to my Portland community, and many members who then viewed your video had just watched the bagpipist on a unicylcler thing (myself included)! hahaahaa.

    Your parents are adorable. I hope you allergies don’t kill you while you’re out! Is Taylor going?

    I am hosting my giveaway (WOO!), working, hopefully going to a marathon/run and also getting ready to visit Savannah AND house-sit for a customer when I come back! My life, she is filled with excitement.

     
  6. Krista

    July 1, 2009 at 10:07 pm

    Yay camping! I miss camping, I wish I went more often. And I don’t include the weekends I spent in my grandparents trailer, or even the night that I slept in a tent after they had left. . . at least there was a tent, otherwise I would have slept in my car, far less comfortable. Anyway, Have fun!

    I don’t have many plans, I need to find somewhere in Portland to watch fireworks from since I’ll be house sitting for the weekend. Might try to go hike around Multnomah falls Saturday or Sunday.

     
  7. Jean B. in SC

    July 7, 2009 at 4:41 am

    I love your style! Can’t wait for the camping report!

     
  8. rjnbenterprises

    July 14, 2009 at 2:01 pm

    I’m sure it’s a simple procedure, but I can’t figure out how to get to newer posts. Have you blogged about your camping adventures yet?

    Jean B. in SC

     
  9. rjnbenterprises

    July 16, 2009 at 10:56 am

    Okay, so you’re a computer genius in addition to being one hell of a writer! I found the epic of The Deer, and loved it.

    I have a blog at http://www.picturecamping.com where I feature people’s posts about camping, and I would like to send my readers your way. Of course I would give you credit for quotes and would link back to your site.

    Thanks for considering this,

    Jean B. in SC

     
    • saturdayjane

      July 16, 2009 at 12:45 pm

      No problem, Jean! Thank you so much! I appreciate it.

       
  10. rjnbenterprises

    July 18, 2009 at 2:33 am

    I featured your posts this morning, and I hope everybody comes to call on you.

    Jean B. in SC

     

Leave a Reply

 
