RSS

Honest Scrap

18 Jun

The final installment of my Japanalogue will be the subject of my first video post, which will be coming very soon. I have received my video camera, or, as I like to refer to it, my ‘OMFG DID YOU SEE WHAT CAME IN THE MAILLLL”.

A better name is pending.

Today I want to do some linking, as I have been sadly lazy about passing on the blogs I adore. The best avenue for this is to exhibit the Honest Scrap award that I received from Solo Lisa! Thank you, lovely Lisa! I had, in the past, received an award from the glorious Amanda but had neglected to post it. I am rather awful about receiving nice things. Never invite me to your parties.

honest scrap

Anyways, the conditions of Lisa’s award state that I need to post the award to my blog, pass it on to seven fantastical blogs, notify said fantastical blogs, and tell the Internet ten things about myself. So I would like to pass this award on to:

And now for ten personal facts! I’m sure you all have been dying to know my favorite foods and happiest childhood memories. I have seen those Facebook searches, The Internet. I know what you’re looking for when you type Saturday Jane into The Google. So, just for you, and because the terms of this award demand it (and I do so love accolades) here are ten honest facts.

  1. I am oddly terrified of going down unfamiliar stairs. When my heel hits the step I can only imagine it slipping out from under me and sending me crashing the rest of the way down, leaving me on the floor, my skull smashed and my brain oozing slowly onto the hardwood. I don’t like stairs.
  2. I also am scared of zombies, but zombies are fictional. For now.
  3. My favorite card game is called Nertz, and is a version of competitive team speed solitaire. Go bug Brittney to teach it to you.
  4. I want my wedding ring to be an ungarnished brushed gold band.
  5. I’m fascinated with the names Peter and Adam. I’m not sure why! Possibly because of how old they are? Or basic? I have several characters with these names, but if any of those stories happen to get published, it would be cruel to use the names for my children. OH TORTURED CHOICES.
  6. I do not like tea. This was a problem in Japan.
  7. At a very young age I wanted to be an actor, but I was told that actors? Do drugs. So, being a good girl who wanted to be on the straight and narrow, I abandoned the idea of acting professionally so that I could stay blessedly sober. This did not stick, as I met a friend in college named Mike, who manufactures some dandy lemonade. Eat it, Little Me.
  8. I think kiwis are adorable. The fruit, not the bird. The bird is ugly.
  9. In an effort to avoid the Work Munchies (or the Wunchies, as I affectionately decided to call them just now) I have begun eating ice while I write. Bad for my teeth, good for quenching my urge to eat a bag of chili-cheese Fritos. A toss-up?
  10. People tell me I look like Ellen Page, which is confusing and flattering. If she had a turned-up nose and some chipmunk cheeks and the habit of chewing on her lips and a more prominent chin then yeah, I could totally see it.

There. Don’t your lives feel enriched now? You can ponder my wedding band preferences while you cook your morning oatmeal, and you may discover something magical about yourself.

Actually, writing out ten facts is pretty fun. You should try it as well, even if you don’t have a blog. It’s somewhat challenging to see if you are interesting enough for ten facts. Possibly you are a complicated soul with thirteen or even sixteen and a half honest facts to share with the world, or maybe you are a six-facter who needs a hobby and some further introspection. And even besides the number of the facts, there is the content. Are your facts quirky? Or sad? If the only things you can think of relate to the cleverness of your cat, then we should have a chat.

Send me an e-mail and we’ll find you a date or a good book.

 
15 Comments

Posted by on June 18, 2009 in Life, Lists

 

Tags: , ,

15 responses to “Honest Scrap

  1. Sal

    June 18, 2009 at 7:25 am

    Heeeey. Kiwi birds are NOT ugly! How can you think something that looks like a feathered bowling pin with legs is unattractive?

     
    • saturdayjane

      June 18, 2009 at 7:49 pm

      If it can’t look cute as a fluffy plush toy, it can’t look cute period. 😉

       
  2. lisa

    June 18, 2009 at 10:53 am

    Thanks for posting the award and following the rules! It was nice learning more about you. Re. #1: Oh geez, every time I envision falling down the stairs it plays out like that scene in Sex and the City where Natasha chases Carrie down the stairs, trips, and knocks her tooth out, with blood gushing everywhere. I understand your fear completely.

     
    • saturdayjane

      June 18, 2009 at 7:47 pm

      I have not seen in this episode of Sex in the City! Part of me thinks I should see it, and part of it thinks that it would be a terrible, TERRIBLE idea.

       
  3. kage

    June 18, 2009 at 7:24 pm

    Thanks for the award 😉 I randomly stumbled upon this – you should check it out: http://averyandphotography.blogspot.com/2009/06/kiwi.html

     
    • saturdayjane

      June 18, 2009 at 7:46 pm

      Those are great! That color green is just so gorgeous. It would look lovely framed on a wall.

       
  4. rubybastille

    June 18, 2009 at 11:33 pm

    hey! An award! Thank you! I will post it with pride, mostly because I am excited to get a chance to talk about myself.

     
    • saturdayjane

      June 19, 2009 at 6:22 pm

      You’re welcome! I’m pumped to see what you write!

       
  5. Tess

    June 19, 2009 at 9:26 am

    You’ll get me a date? And I was pretty thrilled hat I knew most of those. We must actually be friends.

     
    • saturdayjane

      June 19, 2009 at 6:22 pm

      Ha, were there any of those that you didn’t know? SURPRISE, we lived with each other for two years. 😀

      And if you want a date, I could get on that. 😉

       
  6. Vanessa

    June 19, 2009 at 10:15 am

    Aww thanks! I’m so honored! I’m sure I’ll think about what my ten things are going to be all night at work and then do this when I get home.

    I liked reading your facts, even though I think both the bird kiwi and the fruit kiwi are cute. We can agree to disagree about this.

     
    • saturdayjane

      June 19, 2009 at 6:21 pm

      Agree to disagree! I like it. And I’m eager to see what ten things you choose to put up!

       
  7. Avery

    June 19, 2009 at 3:21 pm

    Thank you Kage for sharing my blog.
    And thank you to SaturdayJane for your comments about my kiwi photos.

    I stumbled on your blog and just had to thank you!

    ~Avery

     
    • saturdayjane

      June 19, 2009 at 6:20 pm

      No problem, Avery! Your photographs are absolutely lovely. 🙂 Thanks for the visit to my blog!

       
  8. Kitty

    June 27, 2009 at 9:09 am

    You gave me an award!!!! I feel so loved!!! I promise to post my personal facts on Monday… also kiwi’s ARE adorable… and fun to pet. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
