RSS

Interlude

15 Jun

So, normally I like to take long showers.  There really is no better place to think than a shower.  The heat, the white noise, the small, white encapsulated area.  It’s the only place where I’m really thoroughly undistracted.  It’s the best time to come up with writing ideas.

It’s my habit to ‘write’ in the shower.  I work out hinky bits of dialogue or straighten out crooked plot lines, or even iron out some character points.  I can get so much thinking done, so when I turn off the water and dry off, I’m ready to just sit down and pour out everything that I’ve just thought up.

In the shower lately, though, I’ve found it hard to focus.  I try to think about my book, but little niggling things keep working their way through my mental pages, like termites.  Things that my brain tells me are Important Things, Crucial Things.  Today I stood in the shower, washing up for the long trip back to America, and all I could think was APARTMENT APARTMENT APARTMENT.

Has Taylor heard from the APARTMENT and if we don’t get this APARTMENT when can we start looking for other APARTMENTS and is APARTMENT hunting o Craigslist really the best way to go or is there some other APARTMENT listing we should know about oh and we should really talk to the APARTMENT management place that liked us to see if we can get first dibs on an APARTMENT but oh gosh I wish I had a JOB to pay for the APARTMENT did I send my resume to that one place that had JOB openings, the vet place, no, I don’t think I did, shit, now I’m coming home with no APARTMENT and no JOB but maybe if we if we if we if we.

All of this nonsense has preempted my story time, and I’m afraid that even when I find a JOB and an APARTMENT that it may not go away.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on June 15, 2009 in Life

 

Tags: , , , ,

9 responses to “Interlude

  1. Michael

    June 15, 2009 at 7:55 pm

    I work out a lot of ideas like that in the shower, I also tend to before falling asleep. My theory is that in those situations your are sort of removed from most external stimuli thus you can focus more of your brain on those creative things.

    Also good luck with the apartment stuff. I managed to find one for myself for next year. It’s going to be one of the easiest moves ever, since its 3 floors up from where I am now, and there is a fairly large elevator.

     
    • saturdayjane

      June 16, 2009 at 5:30 pm

      Hehe, I used to do that before I fell asleep but then I found that I would come up with these stellar ideas and not be able to remember them!

      Congrats on finding a handy apartment! I am way jealous!

       
  2. kage

    June 16, 2009 at 9:11 am

    Not too long ago I wrote about doing my thinking at the gym (like your in the shower thinking) and how all I can think about is WEDDING! Even now, as I’m sitting here at work, at night before I fall asleep, when I go to the gym…WEDDING! APARTMENT, which is my WEDDING, will slowly ease off the forefront of every single one of your thoughts. Once you get a job and an apartment, things in your head will sort themselves out and get back to normal.

     
    • saturdayjane

      June 16, 2009 at 5:29 pm

      Congratulations on your upcoming wedding, first of all!! Maybe the gym would be a better place to think than the shower. When my body is basically occupied (like when I drive!) i find that my brain is more able to focus. 🙂

       
  3. lisa

    June 16, 2009 at 11:17 am

    Oh geez, I know exactly how you feel. I work stuff out when I go on long walks with my iPod on and think about future blog post ideas or how I’m going to frame a new fashion article. Lately, though, my internal dialogue has been similar to your apartment train of thought…just replace the word “apartment” with the name of the guy I’m hung up on. Ugh.

    Good luck with the apartment hunt! It sounds stressful.

     
    • saturdayjane

      June 16, 2009 at 5:27 pm

      Ooh, I can see how pondering guy issues would be even more distracting than apartment issues. It’s a shame that we creative types are so dependent on our clarity and focus! It’s like a bus driver trying to use a bus that only works when they can think about driving.

       
  4. Jena

    June 16, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    We found a lot of listings on apartmentfinder.com. Good luck!

     
    • saturdayjane

      June 16, 2009 at 5:25 pm

      Oh, good! That’ll help, thank you!

       
      • Jena

        June 16, 2009 at 11:47 pm

        not a problem. let me know how it goes! 🙂

         

Leave a Reply

 
