RSS

two michaelangelos

27 May

Well!  It’s been a few days.  Sorry about that.

I’ve been a bit distracted by this whole finals thing.  I had a final yesterday, plus a presentation and a final essay, an essay that I did today (that was uh due yesterday) and one more final in two hours.  After that, I need to pack up, and then I have graduation on Sunday and Real Life starts Monday.

I’ve already started the packing in a very…desultory sort of way.  I began very eagerly.  I tend to have brilliant ideas for projects to start at about midnight, and it was 12:30 AM, so the concept of packing seemed extra-smart.  I thought, “I’m going to do this in such an organized way, oh man, I’ll have a box for my special sorority stuff, and a box for the special things I’m going to keep at home, and a box for my toys – ”

Oh.

My toys.

I’m not supposed to have toys anymore.

I proceeded to gather up all of my action figures, my My Little Pony, my Beast Boy, my Ninja Turtles, my Gollum,  my Speed Racer cars, Stitch, a Christmas ornament that looks like a robot (!),  a Robo Raptor, and even the little stone owl that Tess brought back from Greece for me.  I set them all out on the carpet and I sat on the floor, looking at them.  Which of these are things that I need?  Which toys are toys that are worth it?  I can’t give away the Speed Racer cars or the Stitch, those are both from Kevin.  And the My Little Pony is from Brittney, and there is a very specific joke associated with it, so it’s extra funny, I promise, and one of my Ninja Turtles is from Kristi and the robot is from Laura and the Beast Boy and Gollum are from Tissa way back in high school.  So the question stops being which toys are worth it, but which people will I not remember?  When I pick up that My Little Pony, will I have any idea what it’s for?  Why it’s there?  Will I remember why I have that Beast Boy?

So I kept them all.

I got Ziploc bags for the small parts (some of the ninja turtles have weapons, see, in addition to the speed racer cars which have attachable sawblades) and packed them all away in a box on my desk.  I’ll find a place for them in whatever life I’m speeding towards.

Toys are important.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 27, 2009 in Life

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “two michaelangelos

  1. Lauren From Texas

    May 27, 2009 at 2:53 pm

    Yes they are!!! Congratulations!

    PS: From one English nerd to another… loved your use of the word “desultory.” 🙂

     
  2. Brittney

    May 27, 2009 at 8:14 pm

    Toys are super important! If anything, it’ll give you an extra way to prove to your kids that you’re super cool. 😉

     
  3. Brittney

    May 27, 2009 at 8:17 pm

    PS: I wrote about you in my spanish paper. In 15 years you will have three cats: Optimus Prime, Bumblebee & Michelangelo!

     
  4. Sal

    May 28, 2009 at 8:31 am

    Definitely. Good choice, doll.

     

Leave a Reply

 
