RSS

passing the torch

19 May

Today I turned in my thesis.

I picked a cumulative 130 pages out of my 450 page novel (the latter pages of which are still ridiculously rough), polished them up, rewrote them a kagibbety times.  and turned them in this morning.  It felt good, walking across campus with that stack of paper.  The weight was real and satisfying.  I had completed that.  This…was mine.

About halfway to my philosophy class I ran across a sophomore from Public Speaking.  He surveyed my hefty pack of papers.

Sophomore:  What’s that?

Me:  Oh this?  Nothing.  Just MY THESIS.

Sophomore:  HOLY SHIT.

Me:  I KNOW.  I mean, there are two copies here.  So this is isn’t all one, but STILL.  THIS IS ENORMOUS.

Sophomore:  You could club a baby with that.

Me:  This is true.  Do you know what you’re doing yours on yet?

Sophomore:  My…what?

Me:  Your thesis.  Do you know what you’re doing it on?

Sophomore (in a tiny, nervous voice):  …no.

Me:  Ah.  How long does it have to be?

Sophomore (in a tinier, more nervous voice):…a hundred pages.

Me:  You hadn’t really thought about it yet?

Sophomore (in a voice not unlike a pygmy mouse with an anxious constitution):…huh-uh.

The sophomore reaches out a hand and flips through some of my pages.  He swallows mightily and rubs the back of his neck.

Sophomore:  I think I just shit myself.

Me:  Don’t worry.  It’ll pass.  Deep breaths.

Now that I’m finished, I’ve been feeling somewhat high off accomplishment.  Tonight, I will do another great bundle of work, and then I’ll drink myself stupid.  Ah, the last days of college, that noble institution.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 19, 2009 in Life

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “passing the torch

  1. Sal

    May 20, 2009 at 7:37 am

    WOOO HOOOOOOOOO! Congrats, doll. You’re a total star.

     
  2. James

    May 20, 2009 at 8:52 am

    Congratulations! If you ever feel like sharing, I’d love to read it sometime.

     
  3. amanda

    May 21, 2009 at 3:06 am

    CONGRATS!

    Seriously, walking across the stage and grabbing that diploma and knowing that you’re /finally/ done is pretty much the greatest feeling. Also great? The copious amounts of alcohol you drink in celebration.

     

Leave a Reply

 
