RSS

professor evaluations are literally the most satisfying thing ever

18 May

Dear College Professor,

I’m sorry I wrote such a scathingly honest evaluation of your class.  I’m sorry I said all those true things about your lack of flexibility and your inconsistent grading, and I’m sorry that I told you under ‘general comments’ that I felt I was a better public speaker before I began your class.  Even though I was.  I’m even sorry that I brought up how you made us buy a ninety dollar textbook that never said anything that wasn’t said in class, and that I put ‘strongly disagree’ under the heading ‘encourages student questions and discussion’.

Oh, wait.

I’m not sorry for any of those things.

Sorry for the confusion.

Love, Jessica

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 18, 2009 in Letters

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “professor evaluations are literally the most satisfying thing ever

  1. sarah

    May 19, 2009 at 7:47 am

    you know, i don’t have any idea how awful this person was in person to deal with, or how unavailable, but i do know that in my own classes i get really frustrated if someone says that the grading was “inconsistent” if they didn’t come in and talk to me at least a couple times about the grading or about particular grades. again, this teacher is probably not like me, s/he sounds pretty awful, and god knows there were lots of people who just didn’t listen or explain at all when i asked them about my grades… but i have a lot of students who say my grading policies are difficult to understand and inconsistent, and i tell them like eight times per semester that they should talk to me about their grades if they have questions, and they rarely do.

    man, i hate this comment – i feel like it makes me all “teachery,” which i don’t like. but i’m still curious about how you dealt with him or her.

     
    • saturdayjane

      May 19, 2009 at 10:33 am

      Hehe, I had to write you a whole e-mail on this, because the comment got way too long. 🙂

       
  2. lisa

    May 19, 2009 at 10:36 am

    They are satisfying. Unless that professor is tenured; then you know that your evaluation doesn’t make a difference. 😦

     

Leave a Reply

 
