RSS

charmander! char! char!

02 May

Lipsync is a tradition in the Greek system on campus.  Once a year, every sorority is matched with a fraternity, given a theme, and told to create a ten minute or so…eh, we’ll call it a ‘presentation’.  There is a script.  There are songs and dances.  But the whole thing is prerecorded onto a single CD and the actors and dancers lipsync to it.  Best one wins.  And by ‘best’, I mean ‘those who have any sort of rhythm whatsoever’.  This year, the theme is the nineties, and while I won’t elucidate on our particular presentation (spies!  spies everywhere!) it may or may not involve MC Hammer.

So Laura and I are walking on our way to the fraternity house to practice.  She has been in charge of the choreography for the show, and thusly, has had MC Hammer stuck in her head for three days or so.

Laura:  Still stuck.

Me:  You know, when I get a song stuck in my head, I just cycle through all the other songs I normally get stuck in my head, until a new one sticks over the old one.

Laura:  Ah.

Me:  Today it’s the Pokemon theme.

Laura.  Oh, dear.

Me:  Yeah.

Me:  I wanna be…the VERY best…like no one ever was…

Laura:  (sighs noticeably)

Me:  To capture them is my real test…to TRAIN them IS my CAUSE…

Laura:  I’m just going to let you get this out of your system.

Me:  POKEMON!  It’s me and you….doo doo dah dee dee dah doooooo…

Laura:  And I’ll just ride it out.

Me:  YOU teach ME and I’LL teach YOU, Po!  Ke!  Mooooooooon!

Laura:  Finished?

Me:  For now, thanks.

Laura:  I’ve learned it’s best to just…let you do your thing.

Me:  Ha!  At least I mumbled it.  That was for YOU.  So that I didn’t walk down the street belting out the Pokemon theme with everyone staring at us.

Laura:  That was very kind.

Me:  You’re welcome.  The things I do for you.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 2, 2009 in Life

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “charmander! char! char!

  1. Vanessa

    May 2, 2009 at 1:40 pm

    I prefer the Pokemon Johto theme 😛 I have it on my mp3 player, and when it comes on in the car, I sing and probably run a lot of stop signs. Of course, if anyone else is in the car I switch songs as quickly as possible.

     
  2. lisa

    May 2, 2009 at 8:02 pm

    Hehe I still know the words to the Sailor Moon theme song.

     
  3. Jerry

    May 9, 2009 at 1:38 pm

    Singing the Pokemon theme in full voice is *totally* acceptable in polite society. Laura just doesn’t understand.

     

Leave a Reply

 
