RSS

spring sprang

30 Apr

It’s been awhile since I’ve done a fashion post.  This is partly because I am in no stylistic condition to be giving other people fashion advice, and partly because the economic slump leaves me thinking about anything but buying baubles.  But spring keeps reminding me that it’s here and the sunshine makes me think fondly of bare legs, sandals, and breezy dresses.

Dresses are a problem.  Being a hobbit means that nearly any frock makes me look like a sack of angry potatoes.  Knowing this doesn’t make dresses any less appealing, though.  It just makes me more determined.  So at the least I’ll look like a sack of determined angry potatoes.

Anyway, here are some of the pieces I’ve been eyeing lately.

Forever 21 - $22.80

Forever 21 - $22.80

I think that liking this dress is a mistake.  It would make me look like a squat Pollock.  But the sleeves!  That shape!  The belt!  For this I can pretend that I like abstract expressionism.

Forever 21 - $13.50

Forever 21 - $13.50

I adore the color of this dress, the deep blue.  Not very springy, but I loves me some rich, jewel-y navy.  The spaghetti strap and crochet cleagular area isn’t the best choice for a busty vixen such as myself, but a girl can dream.

Forever 21 - $15.50

Forever 21 - $15.50

How come all the dresses I like for spring have dark, dreary colors in them?  I love the pretty floral here.  It hints at Hawai’i to me, though this particular dress has an unfortunate case of tiger-boob.  The neckline is also totally bodacious.  Elegant while still being casual.

The Gap $59.99

The Gap $59.99

I fully realize that my legs will never look that sassy.  I realize that I will never be 5’11”, and that the only bulging my calf muscles will do will be from mosquito bites.  But this is the sort of dress – versatile, chic, bright – that would give me the requisite wiggle in my walk to feel like a supermodel.

The Gap - $39.50

The Gap - $39.50

I love the gentle A-line of this dress.  I feel like this is the sort of dress that one could put on, prepare for hours and go out for the day and convincingly say, “Oh, this old thing?  I just threw this on.  I just happen to NATURALLY GLOW LIKE A GENTLE SUMMER MOON.”

The Gap - $24.99

The Gap - $24.99

Have I mentioned that I want a gigantic floppy hat?  I WANT A GIGANTIC FLOPPY HAT.  Mostly so I don’t get cancer.

You may notice that my fashion picks are from limited places.  This is because A.  I’m poor, and B. I rarely go shopping.  I don’t know where else on the internet to look!  Suggestions are welcome in the comments.

How about you, Internet?  Made any exciting spring purchases?  Is there anything on your wishlist?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 30, 2009 in Life

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “spring sprang

  1. Sal

    May 1, 2009 at 9:12 am

    Get that Gap dress. Please. It’s criminally cute.

     
    • saturdayjane

      May 1, 2009 at 9:56 am

      Ha, which Gap dress? There are two, and they’re both pretty criminally cute.

       
  2. lisa

    May 1, 2009 at 10:32 am

    Cute picks, all of them!

     
  3. Vanessa

    May 1, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    I’ll take one of everything, please.

     

Leave a Reply

 
