RSS

possibly a corgi

30 Apr

Admittedly, when people refer to themselves as cat people or dog people, my first mental image is of either a werewolf or a Thundercat. I know this is incorrect, but I’d much rather picture a cat person as Cheetara than a sad old woman with ninety-four kittens in her trailer.

Also, werewolves are awesome.

In any case, I tend to think that a person’s designation as a ‘cat person’ or ‘dog person’ as pretty indicative of their personality. F’rinstance, I used to think I was a cat person. This was mostly because I liked cats. A lot. My bedroom was wallpapered with hand-me-down kitten posters. I constructed elaborate games of pretend out of my Pound Kitty collection. In the second grade, I wrote a series of short stories centered on Giggles the Tabby, who eventually got murdered by the mob.

I got in trouble for that one. Apparently drawing a cat’s brain exploding out the side of her head denotes some sort of issue.

As I got older, though, I came to a slow realization.  I loved cats, yeah, but I had near nothing in common with felinus domesticus.  I wasn’t aloof.  I wasn’t majestic.  Heck, I wasn’t even all that independent.  All in all, I was much more like a pooch than a pussycat.

A larger terrier, to be exact.

I’m bright, but unfocused.  Affectionate.  Attention-hungry.  A bit yappy and generally easy to please.  Honestly, I’m the precise definition of ‘hound in human form’.  I won’t grow fangs at the full moon (goddammit) but I do crave my fair portion of red meat and have a habit of begging for a bit of whatever somebody’s cooking.   I’m a dog person.

I still adore cats.  I’d love to adopt a couple when I can, but I think I’ll have a far greater connection to my future pooch.

What about you all?  Cat people or dog people?  In what way?

 
9 Comments

Posted by on April 30, 2009 in Life

 

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “possibly a corgi

  1. Brittney

    April 30, 2009 at 12:08 pm

    I have a feeling that I’m a pet elephant person.

     
    • saturdayjane

      April 30, 2009 at 7:29 pm

      Naturally.

      It fits because you NEVER FORGET.

       
  2. Sal

    April 30, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    100% North American Badger over here.

    OK, OK. I adore cats and dogs both and with tremendous fervor … but own cats, and believe myself to be slightly more like them. Of course, MY cats are clumsy and bizarre and greet me at the door. So maybe I really am cross-platform.

     
    • saturdayjane

      April 30, 2009 at 7:29 pm

      Hehe, yay badger folk!!

      Your cats sound amazing. Any cat who greets you at the door gets bonus points.

       
  3. amanda

    April 30, 2009 at 3:02 pm

    I was firmly on the side of canine for years before I finally stopped denying that cats aren’t Satan’s minions, and therefore, we could hang.
    I still love dogs and am DYING to adopt either a corgi or a greyhound (or both!) but I think I’m really more of a cat person. Probably because I, like most cats, am really a drag queen.

     
    • saturdayjane

      April 30, 2009 at 7:31 pm

      Haha, a corgi and a greyhound sounds like the basis of an amazing sitcom.

      “HE’S bred for speed! SHE’S the companion of the queen! Together, they’re HAWT DOGS!”

      Also, the idea of cats being drag queens is hilarious and accurate.

       
  4. Vanessa

    April 30, 2009 at 4:25 pm

    “In the second grade, I wrote a series of short stories centered on Giggles the Tabby, who eventually got murdered by the mob.” This is literally the greatest sentence in the English language. If not, at the very least it’s the greatest premise for a series of short stories that I have ever heard.

    I’m a dog person, but I think at this point I wouldn’t mind owning a cat. I kinda flip out with happiness when they rub all up on your legs and your face and stuff. It’s so cute. Plus, they’re a lot squishier than dogs when you pick them up (does anyone agree with me? I’ve been told this is crazy-talk, but cats are definitely kinda squishy and flexy).

    Of course, if life pans out as planned, I have to convince the boyfriend to get a pet. It’s going to happen, even if I have to have one follow me home. I’ll put it in a little fake cast to make it even more pitiable. You can’t say no to a puppy in a little leg cast.

     
    • saturdayjane

      April 30, 2009 at 7:32 pm

      Nobody could refuse an animal in a cast!

      Also, I agree with your squishy cat theory. They’re definitely much more satisfying to cuddle in your arms. Dogs are too squirmy and muscle and bony for that. 🙂

       
  5. battycatlady

    May 1, 2009 at 12:50 am

    At this time I describe myself as a cat person because they fit my lifestyle better (i.e., I can leave them alone all the time and they just chill out on my couch, happy as can be); dogs are a little too needy for me. But really I like all animals. Except for rodents, perhaps. Specifically their teeth. They may be tiny, but they can pack a punch if you make them mad enough.

    On a side note, it’s good to know I’m not the only one who had my teachers feeling kinda disturbed when I was a child. I once built a guillotine out of popsicle sticks for a class project. I figured a real working blade wouldn’t go over too well at school, but I still achieved the desired effect with a severed doll’s head and lots of red paint.

     

Leave a Reply

 
