RSS

long distance

29 Apr

Taylor:  Hi.

Me:  Hi.  How are you?

Taylor:  Tired.  I’ve been waiting up.

Me:  You’ve been awake this whole time?

Taylor:  Yeah.

Me:  Waiting for me to call you?  Aw, sweetie, you didn’t have to do that.

Taylor:  I know.  I wanted to.

Me:  Aw.  Well, I’m sorry it took me so long.  Dad has this series that he found on HBO that he likes.  He had me watch a couple of episodes.

Taylor:  Oh?  What series?

Me:  It’s called In Treatment.  It’s about a psychiatrist guy and every day he treats a different patient.  Have you seen it?

Taylor:  Don’t think so.  My friends have been talking about a new show, though.  Maybe that’s it.

Me:  Yeah, maybe.

Taylor:  How was dinner?

Me:  It was good!  Dad made lasagna.  Like, homemade lasagna.  He made the noodles and the cheese and everthing like that.  Well, he didn’t MAKE the cheese, but he…used it.

Taylor:  Sounds good.  Sad I missed it.

Me:  Yeah.  Me too.

Me:  Oh, I couldn’t write you a Nice Thing tonight.  I’m sorry!

Taylor:  Oh.  That’s okay.  You can write me two tomorrow.

Me:  Or I can think of one right now.  Hmmm.

Taylor:  Orrr…you can write me two tomorrow.

Me:  No no, I can think of one!  Just let me think for a second.

Taylor:  You know, the nicest thing you could say to me right now would be ‘I’m tired and I’m going to sleep, so you can go to sleep.’

Me:  Oh.  You’re tired?

Taylor:  Yeah…

Me:  I was kind of hoping to talk for awhile tonight.

Taylor:  Aw, this is…really not a good night for that, sweetheart.

Me:  Yeah, no, that’s fine.  You should go to bed.  I’ll talk to you later.

Taylor:  Okay.

Me:  I’ll be pretty busy tomorrow, so I may not be able to –

Taylor:  Me too.

Me:  -talk to you…okay.

Taylor:  Okay.

Me:  Love you.

Taylor:  Love you too.

Me:  Talk to you later.

Taylor:  Okay.  Bye.

Me:  Bye.

Taylor:  Bye.

Me:  Bye.

Taylor…bye.

Me:  Bye.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on April 29, 2009 in Life

 

Tags: , ,

10 responses to “long distance

  1. Vanessa

    April 29, 2009 at 10:18 am

    Boys should not be allowed to be tired until we tell them to. I’ve told MINE that that is the rule, but he doesn’t believe me.

     
    • saturdayjane

      April 29, 2009 at 10:25 pm

      Ha! Well, to his credit, he’s been working LIKE A DOG and he stayed up until three am his time. I declare that he’s allowed to be tired at that point. 🙂

       
  2. Sal

    April 29, 2009 at 10:50 am

    I second Vanessa’s motion.

     
    • saturdayjane

      April 29, 2009 at 10:24 pm

      Hee. Duly noted.

       
  3. amanda

    April 29, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    Aww … this was so sweet and so heartrending all at once. The long-distance will end soon, right?

     
    • saturdayjane

      April 29, 2009 at 10:24 pm

      Soon, yes. We’ve been doing long distance for three years, but this semester marks the end. He graduates on May 10th, and he’ll be home after that, although I still have some schooling left to go. 🙂

       
  4. Amanda

    April 29, 2009 at 5:49 pm

    I find it strange that there is another amanda who reads your blog.

     
    • saturdayjane

      April 29, 2009 at 10:23 pm

      Any Amanda who reads my blog wins a prize. You have all apparently heard of this fact. 🙂

      The prize is MY ADMIRATTION. 😀

       
  5. Kristen

    May 12, 2009 at 10:04 am

    Just found your blog and was reading some old posts. I did long distance too and it was so tough….do you ever do movie dates? Where you talk on your cell at the movie rental store and rent the same movie, then go buy candy “together” and then watch the movie at the same time (starting them totally in sync can be tough) while wearing super lame headsets so that you don’t have to hold a phone for 2 hours straight. I would recommend a good long distance phone plan before you do that though!

     
    • saturdayjane

      May 12, 2009 at 1:33 pm

      Hi, Kristen! Thanks for reading, I really aprpeciate it.

      We have KIND of done movie dates. It’s such an adorable idea (especially the buying candy together part!) There’s an issue with television ones because of the time difference, but the biggest thing is just that Taylor was so BUSY over there (he just got home) he never had a spare two hours for me, nor I for him, really.

      We’re just super super super glad that after three years, we don’t have to do it anymore. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
