RSS

coveting

13 Apr

This recession thing hasn’t even hit me yet.

I don’t identify with the whole ‘recessionista’ trend. I rather ferociously pinch my pennies, but it has less to do with the global economy and much more to do with this condition I have. The clinical term for it is ‘BEING A COLLEGE STUDENT’. Symptoms include anxiety, mass consumption of Top Ramen, and not having any freakin’ money. Still, though, a girl can dream, and I spend a great deal of my time coveting things.  So I figure I would share my List of Coveted Items

This'd go great with a little gold chain!

$13.00 - BKD Signature

This super fabulous pendant is actually being sold by my friend, Brie Durkin, who has just opened
her own Etsy shop.  Brie has been getting progressively craftier and craftier since I met her a few years ago, and her products are great quality.  Tess got several custom ordered pendants a few days ago, and now getting my own is on top of my ‘If I Had Money’ to-do list.  Mainly because it’ll be the first thing I can afford.

$19.99, Payless Shoes

$19.99 - Payless Shoes

Ahh, wedges.  I have been wanting wedges for years but because I am a hobbit I’ve always figured that they would make my legs look even shorter and stumpier.  In this assumption, though, I’ve overlooked the fact that I have totally sweet ankles, and wedges would only make ’em look better.  This pair of summery wedges would be great with a skirt or even one of my many pairs of baggy man-shorts.

26.99 - Payless Shoes

26.99 - Payless Shoes

You know what?  These too. I would also totally wear these.

$48.00 - Gap

$48.00 - Gap

I’m a sucker for nice, thick straps on a tank top.  This tank has such a pretty, delicate pattern, and the ruffles on it make feel like I should have another ovary.  It is by far the cutest, girliest thing I’ve ever coveted.

$34.99 - Merona$34.99 – Merona

I’ve been in the market for a decent swimsuit for awhile.  I love to swim, but Oregon has a bit of a shortage of sunny, tropical beaches.  It compensates with an abundance of craggy, icy hellholes where you are more likely to lose a layer of skin to sandburns than sunburns.  The last time I went swimming, I bought a five dollar paisley suit in Puke Brown at Ross.  This suit is a marked improvement on that one.  I particularly love that deep navy color.  A note:  while swimsuit hunting online I came across a swimsuit advertised as ‘seersucker’.  Being rather uninitiated in the world of fashion, I had no idea what seersucker was, but I was pretty sure that I didn’t want it anywhere near my nethers.  I have since learned that it is, in fact, fabric.

$29.99 - Best Buy

$29.99 - Best Buy

WHAT I LIKE POKEMON OKAY

 
10 Comments

Posted by on April 13, 2009 in Life

 

Tags: , , ,

10 responses to “coveting

  1. girlslashwoman

    April 13, 2009 at 6:12 pm

    That pendant is adorable.
    But yes, the recession hasn’t really hit me either. If anything, I just get some serious post-purchase remorse or shopper’s guilt i.e. should I really have bought that since the economy is supposed to be bad…? Then again, maybe buying that kit kat stimulated it a little bit.

     
    • saturdayjane

      April 13, 2009 at 9:47 pm

      Ha! I love that philosophy. Must…buy…useless…shit…it’s the only thing we can do to SAVE THE ECONOMY. 😀

       
  2. amanda

    April 13, 2009 at 6:19 pm

    The pendant is lovely! Your friend is supremely talented.

    If you’re not in the habit of wearing heels, wedges are a nice beginning stepping stone. I wear heels all the time despite being hobbit sized and I’ll reach for wedges more than any other heel style. They’re much more stable than stilettos, and more versatile to boot!

     
    • saturdayjane

      April 13, 2009 at 9:50 pm

      I am getting used to heels, but they still make my feet sore, and I’m told that wedges are amazing for this. I’m very excited to maybe be able to afford some at some point in the future.

      Shout out to my hobbit sistah!

       
  3. Vanessa

    April 13, 2009 at 8:29 pm

    My boyfriend got me a DS for Christmas and I love it so much. It’s my child pretty much. I’m not into Pokemon, though– that’s more his thing. He’s a dork and I love it. He says Pokemon Mystery Dungeon is probably not very good, but he reads a lot of Gamespot reviews and has never tried it, so if you want to buy it and just let us know if it’s actually awesome…. well, I think that’s a decent excuse to blow 30 bucks, right?

     
    • saturdayjane

      April 13, 2009 at 9:53 pm

      Y’know, Taylor got me my DS too. I’m so frugal that I rarely get games for it. So far I only have Phantom Hourglass and Sonic Chronicles. The latter I got almost solely BECAUSE IT WAS SONIC. 🙂 I also have a healthy place in my heart for Pokemon, though. I like your suggestion, and I’m totally going to take you up on that.

       
  4. Winona

    April 14, 2009 at 12:54 am

    Oooooohh good finds! Now you’ve got me coveting too!

     
    • saturdayjane

      April 14, 2009 at 8:27 am

      Ha, praise from Caesar! Thanks, Winona!

       
  5. Sal

    April 14, 2009 at 6:41 am

    I think you should tell me your shoe size. And that it should be size 8. Because I have an abundance of wedges and might be able to part with a pair to make room for some newbies. Drop me a note, kitten. I am not kidding.

     
    • saturdayjane

      April 14, 2009 at 8:28 am

      OOOOH. I’m generally a size 7 – 7/12, but we can FIGURE THIS OUT. I’ll shoot you an e-mail. 😀 😀 😀

       

Leave a Reply

 
