RSS

blondtroversy

10 Apr

Dear The Internet:

So I want to be a blonde again. This is a decision I’ve come to slowly, over a period of several months, and it has grown from a gentle needling into a commanding desire. The only problem with this is that I am also poor.

I have a few options. The first, forgo food for a month in favor of salon money. The second, buy a box of dye from the store, an act that goes against every piece advice from everyone I’ve ever met. The third, find a cheap cheap cheap salon and hope for the best.

I tried the cheap salon. We have a Great Clips about three blocks away from my apartment, and so, after much hemming and hawing, I decided to take the plunge. An hour ago I strode boldly into the Great Clips, faced the gaudy colored sails separating the chairs, and stood, hands on hips, in front of a tremulous man with a goat-like beard at the counter.

“Excuse me,” I said, “I would like to get my hair colored.”

Goat-Beard squinted at me and began ruffling through Very Important Documents on the counter.

“We don’t do color here,” he said, as though ‘color’ were an exotic drug that was a shade darker than his normal brand of meth.

So now I’m not sure what I should be doing. Any suggestions?

Love, Jessica

Edit: Wow, thanks, The Internet!  I’ve gotten tons of way helpful comments!

 
18 Comments

Posted by on April 10, 2009 in Letters

 

Tags:

18 responses to “blondtroversy

  1. amanda

    April 10, 2009 at 1:05 am

    Unless your hair is already rather light, DO NOT go the box colour route. It’ll probably turn out brassy and you’ll have to pay more to make your hair look like it belongs to a human, and not lining horse stalls.

    I say find a cheap salon. If you’re not trying to lift from say, a level 2 (darkdarkdark almost black) to a level 8 (Marilyn Monroe blonde), it shouldn’t be too expensive or too difficult.

     
    • saturdayjane

      April 10, 2009 at 1:51 am

      Nah, I’ve got kind of chestnutty hair now, I’m going for a honey blonde or a dirty blonde. Sounds like I will be going the cheap salon route, if I can just FIND one!

       
  2. Jenny

    April 10, 2009 at 4:11 am

    You should check out hair styling schools… I go to the Vidal Sassoon Hair Academy in Santa Monica for my hair cut… $21 for a cut, $45 for a color, and that’s before the 1/2 off discount with a student id (I still use my USC id). If you can find something similar, it will definitely be better than the box route 🙂

     
    • saturdayjane

      April 10, 2009 at 6:04 am

      Ooh, that sounds amazing! I’ll have to check on that! I wonder if I can just do an internet search to find schools in my area. 🙂

       
  3. Jenny

    April 10, 2009 at 4:56 am

    BTW, I have a minor whine about your site… it doesn’t have a “title” that shows up at the top of the browser so while I tried to add you to my Blogger list (and your updates show up in my “reading list”), but without a title, it doesn’t show under the blogs I’m following. This makes me a sad panda as I click on the blogs one by one instead of using my reading list because I follow so many that update so frequently.

    Can we have a browser title? Please? Pretty please? 🙂

     
    • saturdayjane

      April 10, 2009 at 6:02 am

      Oh, golly, thanks for letting me know! I’ll have to figure out how to do that! May take me a few tries though.

      Thanks for adding me to your blogger list, by the way! That makes me smile!

       
      • saturdayjane

        April 10, 2009 at 6:08 am

        There! Ha HA!

         
  4. Jenny

    April 10, 2009 at 6:12 am

    … It didn’t fix it! 😦 I don’t know what’s going on… I’m subscribed to other WordPress blogs…

    You should be between Sandra & Woo and Stuff White People Like… but alas! My memory isn’t good enough to check back here frequently without prompting. I am so confused. I don’t suppose Taylor would have a solution?

     
    • saturdayjane

      April 10, 2009 at 12:21 am

      Possibly, or I can ask Brittney of Lemon Love. She knows all about how to fix this stuff. Shoot! I’m GOING to make this work. 😉

       
  5. lisa

    April 9, 2009 at 11:36 pm

    I second the “find a hair school” idea. I’ve got friends who get their haircuts through similiar means and the results are terrific. The students often have experienced hairdressers supervising them during the process anyway.

     
    • saturdayjane

      April 10, 2009 at 12:22 am

      It sounds like a good bet. I just discovered the ‘Aveda School’ in the city nearby, so that’s a good option! 🙂

       
  6. Jenny

    April 9, 2009 at 11:39 pm

    I recommend going to a school where the students MUST have experienced hairdressers supervising them 😉 And bonus if you can find a school like the VSA as if the students mess up your cut (or color, I’m assuming), the instructor fixes it. Your hair may end up shorter than you want, but these instructors are styling GODS. And they can give you a full hair cut in 5 minutes. The students can take up to three hours though so either bring a book or a lot of zen 😉

     
  7. Kitty

    April 10, 2009 at 5:53 am

    Finding a cheap way to go blond in the first place is only the beginning of your problems…Maintaining your new Goldy-locks can be massively expensive… and the last thing you want is unsightly roots. If I were you, I would wait until I had a little more gold in the bank before I worry about how much is in my hair. If you simply MUST be blond now, I would find a Sally’s or some other beauty supply shop and get the good stuff. Many of the people who work in these stores are actually hairdressers, and a good store clerk should be able to tell you exactly what color and level of lightener to buy and how to mix it up yourself. Then get a trusted friend to help you separate your hair and paint it up. When your roots come in, just mix up some more and paint the new hair. It’s way easier, less expensive, and less damaging for your hair than the box stuff. Sorry for the mammoth comment, but I hope it helps.

     
    • saturdayjane

      April 10, 2009 at 9:37 am

      IT does help, actually, and it’s an incredibly good point. Somehow I forgot that yes, my hair may actually GROW after it’s blonde. So it might be a good idea to wait until I actually I don’t know GRADUATE AND GET A JOB. 😉

      I wonder how it would work to go to a professional place for the first round and then go to Sally’s and ask them the best way to do touch-ups? We have one here in town (surprise! it’s hickville over here.)

       
  8. Sal

    April 10, 2009 at 7:06 am

    Aveda school all the way. It might take ages, but it’ll be affordable and well-done.

     
    • saturdayjane

      April 10, 2009 at 9:38 am

      If I do it, that’s the way I’ll go. 🙂

       
  9. K

    April 10, 2009 at 2:55 pm

    I’m with Kitty… Sally’s is your friend. Enlist a roommate or knowledgeable friend to help out. Load up on supplies and dye away! Once you get the hang of it, you can maintain it yourself without a million trips to the salon.

     
  10. Brittney

    April 10, 2009 at 9:57 pm

    So like, if you do the plunge with dying while I’m around, I’d be interested in doing something drastic with my hair too! I want to change SOMETHING.

     

Leave a Reply

 
