RSS

and Discovery is the ‘blow it up’ channel

08 Apr

Sitting in the living room, watching America’s Next Top Model on Oxygen. An ad for the show Pretty Wicked comes on.

Laura: Didn’t Oxygen used have shows like Oprah all about empowering women?

Me: Yeah, but then they got Bridezillas and everything went to shit from there. I love Bridezillas by the way.

Laura: It’s like how TLC turned into “The Eight Million Babies” channel. Oxygen has just turned into the “EH HEH HEH HAAA HAAA HAAAAAA SHOPPINGBITCH” channel.

Edit: Also, I should mention that the photo used for the new banner was actually taken by my sister Casey of her darling daughter, my niece, whom I love to pieces.  So the credit goes to her!

 
9 Comments

Posted by on April 8, 2009 in Snippet

 

Tags: ,

9 responses to “and Discovery is the ‘blow it up’ channel

  1. Vanessa

    April 8, 2009 at 4:29 pm

    The other day I was watching TLC (I have no idea how I got sucked into those “Look at Me Having a Baby!” shows, but it probably had something to do with my bed being comfy and the remote being far away), and I thought the same exact thing. Every show is about people with a different obscene amount of babies. And to think my boyfriend and I wonder if we should really someday have TWO instead of ONE. Geez.

     
    • saturdayjane

      April 8, 2009 at 7:14 pm

      Oh, god, was it “I Didn’t Know Know I Was Pregnant?” That show is horrifying and disgusting. We caught a chunk of it flipping channels once, and a woman was saying, “It felt like my insides were coming out,” and THEN THERE WAS A BABY IN A TOILET and we are NEVER watching it AGAIN.

      You really gotta wonder why they need so many babies on that channel.

      Probably because its main audience is stay at home moms.

       
      • Vanessa

        April 9, 2009 at 2:20 am

        No, it was not, but my boyfriend and I have seen commercials about that show, and we can never really make much sense of it. Like, how in the fuck do you not figure out you’re pregnant by the time you have a baby in your toilet (ew)?! I mean, your period stops and you probably feel… different… or… something… just HOW IS THAT POSSIBLE?! I’m sorry you had to see that. Really I am.

         
  2. Sal

    April 8, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    Makes me glad I don’t have cable. Well, almost.

     
    • saturdayjane

      April 8, 2009 at 7:11 pm

      Ha, no cable would probably be a good thing. They just set us up with Comcast this year, and there has been NO LOOKING BACK.

       
  3. lisa

    April 8, 2009 at 5:29 pm

    Back when I was 8, TLC used to stand for “The Learning Channel” and have shows about the Tudors. I kind of miss those days, but What Not To Wear makes up for it. Somewhat.

     
    • saturdayjane

      April 8, 2009 at 7:09 pm

      I too remember when it was the learning channel. Those were good days. But you’re right, What Not To Wear totally makes up for it, nad I’m slowly getting addicted to Say Yes To The Dress.

       
  4. WendyB

    April 8, 2009 at 6:57 pm

    Adorable chubby arm and hand in that banner!

     
    • saturdayjane

      April 8, 2009 at 7:08 pm

      Thank you, dahlink! She’s an adorable girl!

       

Leave a Reply

 
