RSS

earl grey. hot.

07 Apr

I like Star Trek.

I like Star Trek a lot.  Probably more than most people.  Probably more than is healthy for the average twenty one year old girl.  I like Star Trek to the point where it’s almost become a disorder.  If we are channel surfing and I hear the orchestral strains of ‘The Next Generation theme, a high buzzing starts up at the base of my brainstem and continues, growing steadily louder and louder, until I watch the episode in question.  I imagine that this is a bit what a crack addict feels like.

And no, the same thing doesn’t happen with oldskool Star Trek or any of the following series.  It’s Star Trek: TNG all the way, baby.

I can't shave for HOW long??

I can't shave for HOW long??

At this point in my life, I have officially seen every single episode. I don’t remember all of these, being that I saw many of these when I was a kid.  It was a near-weekly ritual.  My brother and I (possibly my sisters, I don’t remember if they were very involved in this scenario, being that they were probably Too Cool for Star Trek at that point of their lives) would sit on either side of my father and watch with open mouths while Picard got tortured by Romulans and Riker posed triumphantly with a phaser.  At each commercial break I would turn and say, “Dad, what’s gonna happen? What’s gonna happen, Dad?” and he would sigh and say, “I don’t know, it’s a new one.  We’ll have to wait and see.”

I would turn back, stare at the television, and try not to talk, after which I would wriggle nervously and squeal, “Yeah, but what do you think will happen?”

No, I will NOT shave it, dammit, I STILL HAVE HAIR!

No, I will NOT shave it, dammit, I STILL HAVE HAIR!

I guess that Star Trek was a pretty pivotal part of my childhood.  My tastes now are almost completely defined by my exposure to Star Fleet, and I’m totally okay with that.  It strikes me as strange though, that my other siblings weren’t as influenced by it as I was.  My oldest sister became addicted to science fiction novels, but rarely watches television.  My brother likes games with a sciency bent.  My other sister, I don’t think, has scifi featured prominently anywhere in her entertainment vocabulary.

I wonder why I kept it.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on April 7, 2009 in Life

 

Tags: , ,

12 responses to “earl grey. hot.

  1. Elaine

    April 7, 2009 at 4:20 pm

    Your words make me giggle & smile! I love the way you write. This one especially got me tickled— “I imagine that this is a bit what a crack addict feels like.”

    keep writing! I love it!!

     
    • saturdayjane

      April 7, 2009 at 5:26 pm

      Thanks so much for your kind words! I was having a crummy morning but you really made my day. 🙂

       
  2. sarah

    April 7, 2009 at 6:06 pm

    i still love tng, a lot. it’s just that i keep away from the tv so i can do schoolwork. you’re like a crack addict who still keeps crack around the house – i’m just in recovery is all.

     
    • saturdayjane

      April 8, 2009 at 12:51 am

      Haha! Well, next titme you’re home we’ll just have to watch some! I always love being able to nerd out about with people. 🙂 You know, when you don’t have anything to grade/turn in.

       
  3. lisa

    April 7, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    I had an ex who loved TNG and theorized you could find a rerun on some channel of TNG or The Simpsons at any point during the day.

     
    • saturdayjane

      April 8, 2009 at 12:55 am

      Aw, that used to be true. Now I think that TNG only runs on SciFi, WGN, and maybe G4, and then only on certain days or if you get lucky. I think it should be mandated that TNG runs at least once a day on every channel. 😉

       
  4. Brittney

    April 7, 2009 at 11:52 pm

    You still owe me a weekend of TNG, including every Sherlock Holmes and/or Robin Hood roleplaying episode that exists!

    There are worse things you could be addicted to. Like Sailor Moon.

    Not like I would know or anything…

     
    • saturdayjane

      April 8, 2009 at 12:58 am

      Oh, man, as SOON as I am able to afford the seasons on DVD THEN WE WILL HAVE OUR WEEKEND.

      It may be a long time coming.

      BUT IT WILL BE AMAAAAAZING.

      (also I was never into Sailor Moon but I may or may not have seen like every episode of pokemon. and I KNOW I’ve seen every episode of the new TMNT series!)

       
  5. Couture Carrie

    April 8, 2009 at 6:14 pm

    Love that Trekkie ref!

    xoxox,
    CC

     
    • saturdayjane

      April 8, 2009 at 7:17 pm

      Haha, hello Carrie! I have seen you around the internet! 🙂

      Thanks for the comment! Always nice to know there’s another Trekkie out there.

       
  6. Daviey B

    December 20, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    I have all of TNG on DVD, it makes me very happy…in fact, i think i have every episode and every film of live-action Star Trek that was ever made, even the very first pre-Shatner Kirk episode…yep, i do indeed…

    im glad to know im not the only one who considers it a very addictive drug…

     
  7. bixbythebat

    May 3, 2010 at 11:54 am

    Aw man, I loves me some Star Trek. TNG is my favorite, but I have a soft spot for Voyager, too. The Doctor cracks me up.

    It’s not often that I encounter other girls who actually like Star Trek! Most awesome.

     

Leave a Reply

 
