RSS

all like professional for reals

03 Apr

Tonight Tess offered to help me with my resume.

I haven’t had a resume for…a long time.  I think I had one in high school for some sort of assignment.  Possibly to appease my father, who is a man of many hats, but EACH of those hats has three impressive references.  Someday I’ll do a post about Dad and the many pies he has fingers in.

Having gone so long without ‘resuming’ means that I am distinctly out of practice when it comes to knowing what is useful, what isn’t, and how to translate my scattered, poetical thoughts into professional jargon.  Tess helped greatly with this.

Tess:  “Okay. What did you do before being a barista?”

Me:  “I had a workstudy job at Syracuse.”

Tess:  “Doing what?”

Me:  “I was…I watched the kids make sculptures while I did my homework?”

Tess:  “Okay.  We’re, uh…we’re not going to say that.  How else can we say that?”

Me:  “I had the keys to the dangerous places.”

Tess:  “Right.  Okay.  We’re not saying that either.  You supervised student work and oversaw the maintenance of tools and equipment.”

This is the sort of linguistic fairydust I need to transfer my babbling into what I actually did.

In other news, I finally settled on a new purse!  AND a new wallet!  Pictures coming soon!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 3, 2009 in Life

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “all like professional for reals

  1. Vanessa

    April 3, 2009 at 12:26 pm

    Oh, work study, you are so inaccurately-named. There is nothing work-related about you. They really should start calling you “Periods In Which a Student Browses the Recesses of the Internet While at a Specific Place.” I guess that’s not as catchy, though.

     
    • saturdayjane

      April 3, 2009 at 4:53 pm

      Hee. I do know of a couple of workstudy jobs where you actually WORK. I have one right now. It does seem like the majority of them, though, are telling a student, “Sit here and make sure this whatever doesn’t break. Check facebook or something.”

       
  2. lisa

    April 3, 2009 at 5:25 pm

    Hahaha this happens with all resumes to some extent.

    Can’t wait to see the new purse and wallet!

     
  3. Kristi

    April 5, 2009 at 7:30 pm

    Oh man, can I rent Tess? Usually when I’m working on a resume, I discourage myself out of the job I’m applying for before I even finish.

    “‘Past experience’. Okay. Stabbed puppies with needles… screw this, I’m going to go wallow in my unemployment with a piece of pie.”

     
    • Tess

      April 5, 2009 at 11:27 pm

      I would never want you to give up your pie, but I am willing to help with resume stuff. I find it pretty fun actually.

       

Leave a Reply

 
