RSS

the new plan

02 Apr

You may notice the new banner. I hope to change it up every time something…changes. And something changed today.

Today we figured out the next two years.

From the beginning. Taylor and I are both graduating this year. Our plans have been very fuzzy, while we wait to hear from graduate schools. Well, while we wait for Taylor’s graduate schools. Right at this moment, I can’t imagine going through another year of school. I’m done, finished, finito, I have been attending school for the past FOREVER and I am ready for a break from academia. Taylor, however, is not quite ready for this break, and is actually rather hungry for his PhD.

Taylor is a Computer Science/Computer Engineering double major, and is graduating with excellent grades and a solid knowledge of what makes our screen savers go whoosh. He applied to some of the top schools in the country, and unfortunately, it didn’t pan out. He heard from the last school today, who waited until literally the last possible minute to notify him that they were full. This put us in a strange position.

I can live anywhere. Anywhere except Syracuse, New York, which is a long story that I might tell you sometime, but suffice it to say, I’m never living there again, unless I have absolutely no other choice. It so happens that Taylor attends Syracuse University, and it’s possible, considering his good standing with the department there, that he could receive a considerable stipend to do his graduate studies there. Taylor was also accepted into Oregon State University, which has offered him no stipend (according to them, he has to prove himself in their program before they’ll give him any kind of fellowship).

So. The decision is now between a school that Taylor likes and would give him a solid boost into the career field that may potential give him lots of money…but exists in a city that I could never stay in, and a school that Taylor is all right with and won’t give him money at first…but exists in a city that I could live in.

Decisions decisions.

Tentatively, we’re going with Oregon State University. If Syracuse gives Taylor a truly obscene amount of money, he’ll reconsider things and we’ll figure it out, but for the moment, we’re planning on going to Corvallis for two years. At that point, Taylor will reapply to the schools he likes with the excellent grades he’ll have earned in the initial part of graduate school, and we’ll go from there.

I’m ridiculously relieved to have a plan. It’s been tough for both of us…Taylor waiting to hear from schools, and me deflecting the constant question, ‘what are you doing after graduation?’. Now, though, now I have something to be excited about. Corvallis. That’s good. I’ll be near my family and friends. I’ll find a job. We’ll have an apartment or whatever, and I”ll finally be able to start creating the library I’ve always wanted, book by book. I’ll be able to work on my own book. Maybe we’ll even get married sometime or something.

This is a good thing. This is a place to start. Which I guess is all that graduation ever is.

I do feel that I should apologize for the seriousness of this post.  For a solid dose of funny, you should head over to Ruby Bastille where my roommate Laura elucidated on my…er…issues with overmedication today.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on April 2, 2009 in Life

 

Tags: , , , ,

9 responses to “the new plan

  1. rubybastille

    April 2, 2009 at 6:57 am

    Hurray, a plan! It’s a good plan. And it’s a plan that keeps us in the same time zone (for most of those 2 years anyway), which I’m sure wasn’t the highest priority, but it’s still cool.

     
    • saturdayjane

      April 2, 2009 at 5:10 pm

      It’ll be nice. I’m pumped up about that.

       
  2. lisa

    April 2, 2009 at 4:17 pm

    Ah such a serious decision! It sounds like you made a good choice, though. Good luck with everything.

     
    • saturdayjane

      April 2, 2009 at 5:09 pm

      Thanks! Let’s hope it’s a good decision. 🙂

       
  3. Vanessa

    April 3, 2009 at 4:18 am

    Congrats on your new plans! I wish ya the best!

     
    • saturdayjane

      April 3, 2009 at 5:03 am

      Thanks much!

       
  4. amanda

    April 3, 2009 at 8:23 am

    Many many congratulations on having a plan! That’s such a big step. There aren’t enough words to explain how jealous I am of you and your post-graduation plans.

     
  5. Kristi

    April 5, 2009 at 7:39 pm

    I definitely don’t blame you about Syracuse. And now with Binghamton going shoot-happy, Ithaca is the cocaine-addicted-hippie-cream-center of the “what the f- is wrong with upstate New York???” oreo.

    I’m really shocked to hear Taylor didn’t get into more schools- he is so ridiculously smart! I’d imagine the grad schools/fellowships are really getting hit with the recession as well? I know it is affecting our college a lot right now.

    I’m so happy both of you finally settled on something though! Don’t you love the deep breath having a Plan gives you?

     
  6. Jenny

    April 10, 2009 at 4:35 am

    Big thumbs up for having a Plan 🙂 John and Jenny’s plan is to get John out to Los Angeles this year and moved in with me… we have yet to sit down and go over the how of the implementation of said plan though, so we’ll see how it goes 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
