RSS

gone fishin’

21 Mar

So I’m not the sort of person who really…Spring Breaks. Not as a verb, anyway. I mean, I have had Spring Breaks in the past. One every year that I have been in school, in fact. But I’ve never really done the classic Spring Break that most college students indulge in.  Namely, getting drunk in Canada or getting syphilis in Cancun.  Most of the time, Spring Break just means that I go to fewer classes and watch more Star Trek.

Don’t judge me. Star Trek is the shit.

This year, though, we’re actually going somewhere, which is awesome.  We’ll be spending the week at Kevin’s house in California, in the heart of wine country.  I have been assured that the weather is in the seventies and sunny.  I have shaved my legs in anticipation of this.

A week of good people, lovely country, and nothing we have to do.  The nine hour drive down will feature dragon-rock and Disney sing-alongs, and Kevin’s family has a pool, which is a daring new concept to me, and I am giddy with excitement over it.  I have two books and time to write.  We are going to watch Speed Racer on a giant television with surround sound.  It should be a wonderful, wonderful week.

Unfortunately, the internet situation there may be a bit tricky, so consider this an official week-long hiatus.  I’ll be back next Friday with stories.

PS:  Today is my boyfriend’s twenty-second birthday.  Taylor is literally the kindest, smartest, most giving person I know.  Not to mention he looks hawt with an evil-twin style goatee.  He and I have been attending different colleges since I transferred three years ago (we started dating two years before that), so this is one of the best ways I can show him I’m thinking of him.

Happy birthday, sweetheart!  I love you!

PPS:  The WordPress spell checker doesn’t think ‘internet’ is a word.  I find this ironic and delicious.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on March 21, 2009 in Life

 

Tags: , , ,

10 responses to “gone fishin’

  1. Vanessa

    March 21, 2009 at 4:17 pm

    Have fun! I’m looking forward to your exciting tales of foreign lands and adventure!

     
    • saturdayjane

      March 24, 2009 at 5:02 pm

      Hehe, I already have some good stories! I’m excited to share.

       
  2. lisa

    March 21, 2009 at 9:59 pm

    Have a great time!

     
    • saturdayjane

      March 24, 2009 at 5:01 pm

      Thanks!

       
  3. Mellissa Forget

    March 22, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    I’ve never been a spring breaker myself, but this year since I’ve moved away for school, spring break was a week of being back home with family, friends, books and my cats.
    have a great time!

     
    • saturdayjane

      March 24, 2009 at 5:01 pm

      Thank you!

      Spring break in college I think can just be a nice reprieve from school. Kind of a chance to go home and go, “Yaaay, somebody take care of me!” 🙂

       
  4. amanda

    March 22, 2009 at 9:31 pm

    “I have shaved my legs in anticipation of this.”
    This line made me laugh so hard the boyfriend came in from another room and stared at me suspiciously.

     
    • saturdayjane

      March 24, 2009 at 5:01 pm

      Haha, thank you! You know how I feel, then!

       
  5. Brittney

    March 24, 2009 at 6:00 am

    “I have shaved my legs in anticipation of this.”
    Oh, I know that feeling. Do you have a bathing suit? ARE YOU WEARING THE CAMO SHORTS.

    Am I being the embarassing friend again? Sorry. I hope you’re having fun! I am COUNTING DOWN the days until I see you again, darrrrling.

     
    • saturdayjane

      March 24, 2009 at 4:59 pm

      I did in fact bring that bathing suit that I got at Ross for like, four dollars. The one with the ruching on the front and looks like paisley threw up all over it. ALSO YES CAMO SHORTS.

      YOU ARE ALWAYS THE EMBARRASSING FRIEND. AND I LOVE OYU FOR IT. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
