RSS

there is surprisingly little in the dairy group.

11 Mar

Taylor is my sweetheart and we’ve been dating just over five years at this point.  I could make a list of all the things he is, but on top of that list would be the word CONCERNED.  He is constantly worried about osteoporosis (rightly so!  women’s health and all!) and has been hassling me to drink milk for years.  This was last night’s conversation, via phone.

Taylor: What, no milk with dinner?
Me: I don’t like milk.
Taylor: You need some dairy.
Me: I don’t like milk.
Taylor: What about ch…you don’t like cheese.
Me: I don’t like cheese.
Taylor: You like nachos!
Me: I DO!
Taylor: You could just have a big…a big glass of nachos in the morning.
Me: Mmm. Gooey. I don’t know what the big deal is. I know I need more calcium, but I do eat eggs.
Taylor:…
Taylor: What?
Me: I eat eggs. Eggs are dairy.
Taylor: Eggs are…definitely not dairy.
Me: They totally are.
Taylor: Why would you think that? There is no reason to think that. Eggs are protein.
Me: But they’re…I don’t know. They’re also dairy? I just have it very stuck in my mind that eggs are dairy.
Taylor: That’s definitely not right.
Me: Aw, come on. They’re WHITE.
Taylor: FLXGBBTQCKZVVVB. WHAT. THAT MEANS NOTHING. WHAT ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT.
Me: I distinctly remember eggs being on some food pyramid somewhere.
Taylor: That’s it. I’m looking this up.
Me: Nonono, let me ask my friends first.

*I hear Taylor madly clicking away on the computer while I dash out of my room to discover Laura and Tess in the kitchen.*

Me: You guys. YOU GUYS. Are eggs dairy?
Laura: Are eggs what?
Tess: No. They’re definitely protein.
Laura: Yeah.
Me: NOOOO.
Taylor: HA. I HEARD THAT.
Me: No, no! They said…they said eggs are DEFINITELY DAIRY. ON ACCOUNT OF THEIR BEING WHITE.
Laura: JESSICA BAGLEY, YOU ARE A LIAR.
Taylor: That is absolutely not what they said. That’s not what the internet says either.
Me: Yeah, they didn’t say that. I lied.
Taylor: I know, sweetie.
Me: I KNOW I need more calcium.
Taylor: You could eat yogurt.
Me: I don’t LIKE yogurt.
Taylor: You could…hmm.
Me: Maybe I should just take a calcium supplement?
Taylor: IT’S CALLED MILK.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on March 11, 2009 in Life

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “there is surprisingly little in the dairy group.

  1. lisa

    March 11, 2009 at 11:50 pm

    LOL this is so cute.

    I drink milk and eat cheese. Are you a coffee drinker? I drink skim milk lattes so that when I get my caffeine fix I get a little oomph in the calcium department too.

     
    • saturdayjane

      March 12, 2009 at 4:06 am

      Ooh, coffee, how I miss it. I quite caffiene at the beginning of this semester (I was quite the junky) but maybe…cocoa or something? The idea of putting milk in something delicious is definitely a good one. 🙂

       
  2. amanda

    March 11, 2009 at 11:58 pm

    You guys are adorable.

    I hate milk, mostly because I’ve been lactose-intolerant for most of my life. I’m also terrified of getting osteoporosis, so I just take a multivitamin for women to get my calcium intake. I tried taking Tums for a while, which I wholeheartedly do not recommend.

     
    • saturdayjane

      March 12, 2009 at 4:08 am

      Hehe, thank you.

      Osteoporosis is pretty terrifying! My mother just discovered she was getting a mild case (do people get a ‘case’ of osteoporosis?) so she’s gotten nutty about her calcium. Taylor’s thinking preemptively. A multivitamin is a good thought! I should be taking one anyway, I think!

       
  3. Vanessa

    March 12, 2009 at 2:26 am

    I wish that foods were put into groups according to color– think of it, maybe chocolate would be a grain and candy corn would be an actual vegetable! I like your system better than the one in place, frankly.

    You two sound like quite the cute couple, by the way.

     
    • saturdayjane

      March 12, 2009 at 4:17 am

      Aw, thank you.

      It would be easier if it was by color! My sister was on a ‘no white’ diet for awhile. No sugar, no flour, no eggs ( I guess) although I don’t think it did much for her. Most everything has SOME white in it!

       
  4. Laura

    March 12, 2009 at 4:29 am

    WAIT WAIT I HAVE THE SOLUTION.

    ICE CREAM. OBVIOUSLY PERFECT.

     
    • saturdayjane

      March 16, 2009 at 2:20 am

      But I…

      *whine*

      …I don’t like ice cream enough for that.

      I’m pathetic, I know.

       

Leave a Reply

 
