RSS

it’s in a ponytail just now, hiding from the world, ashamed.

10 Mar

Hello, all you lovely people from Daddy Likey! Thanks so much for checking me out, and thanks even more to those of you who have been sticking around. This blog is only quite recently started, and it’s wonderful to already have some readers. I am very open to advice and ideas, so feel free to drop me a line, if you so feel.

But onwards to the issue of the day!

I use cheap shampoo.

I am a cheap person in general, maybe in more than the financial sense, but self, we are not going to go down that dark and dusty road today. Today we’re sticking to the topic of frugality.

Most of my friends and roommates are willing to splurge a bit for a better product. They feel the extra five dollars is worth it if it means the skin cleanser won’t melt their face, and I agree with that. I see products all the time that seem very much like a worthwhile investment. Things like makeup brushes made of Peruvian Squirrel Hair (only from squirrel royalty) and moisturizer gleaned from the Moisturaria Tree that only grows on the highest peak of the highest mountain in the hills of Taiwan. These seem like reasonable things to me. But when the time comes to open my wallet and actually SHELL OUT for the best products, I scrooge up and opt for the dollar bottle of Suave.

And Suave is perfectly fine. It does its job. I don’t have any mice living in my hair, so that’s great. But I’m growing my hair out, and it has started to become…cumbersome. I’m considering switching to a shampoo/conditioner that may be more worth my while.

At this point, I haven’t had a haircut in nearly a year. I’ve gone from a short choppy boycut to an oily, stick-straight-and-yet-somehow-poofy mane that goes a bit past my shoulders. The Suave ain’t cuttin’ it anymore. I thought the addition of a THREE dollar bottle of conditioner from the Garnier line might make up for it, but it’s only oiled my hair up to the point where you could fry potatoes in it. Since I am about to graduate college, it’s starting to feel like I should be able to get a grown-up set of hair supplies. Something beyond what I can yank off the shelves at grocery stores. Something that makes me appear to be the quality person I am (snerk!) and causes people to stare wonderingly at my glowing locks of dignity before shouting, “YOU’RE HIRED!”

Or just something that doesn’t make me look like I do meth behind the 7/11.  I’ll settle for that.

Any suggestions?

 
15 Comments

Posted by on March 10, 2009 in Life

 

Tags: , ,

15 responses to “it’s in a ponytail just now, hiding from the world, ashamed.

  1. lisa

    March 10, 2009 at 8:19 pm

    “Stick-straight and yet somehow poofy mane”–I think it’s the lack of a haircut and not the shampoo’s fault. Every 4 months or so I find myself in the same situation and I have to go to my hairdresser for a pruning. He cuts lots of concealed layers into my hair so that the overall length looks the same but it’s a bit less bulky.

    LOL And there’s nothing wrong with cheap shampoo! I use Pantene 2-in-1 because I’m cheap AND I’m too lazy to condition in a separate step.

     
    • saturdayjane

      March 10, 2009 at 11:42 pm

      Oooh! I do like 2-in-1s!

      It probably is partially the lack of haircut. Maybe I should start looking at those haircut guides to see what’s up there. I’d love to keep my limited length, but you know, looking good is important too! 🙂

       
  2. LeeAnn

    March 10, 2009 at 9:17 pm

    Shampoo is just a horrible thing. Unless you buy a quality product (usually something organic) it just leaves a buildup of plastics and chemicals on your hair making it look greasy. I, like you, can’t use the Garnier stuff because of that reason! When I was working I shelled out 20 bucks for a bottle of shampoo & 18 for the conditioner, but at least it lasted 7 months or so. It was the only thing that ever made my hair manageable when let down. I really miss it. 😦

    Anywho, since I ran out I can’t bring myself to ask Johnny for that kind of money for hair products so I am trying out Treseme. It seems to be working pretty well for me so far. It still leaves that weird feeling every shampoo does, but it keeps my hair from getting all greasy. WalMart has 32oz bottles of it for 3.50, so I guess that isn’t tooooo bad.

    Good luck in the shampoo quest!

     
    • saturdayjane

      March 10, 2009 at 11:44 pm

      Oooh, Treseme! That sounds like it might be a good plan. I remember your hair being thicker than mine, but I have the same issue with the buildup. Yuck. The price sounds about right for Treseme! Maybe I’ll give it a shot, thanks!

       
  3. WendyB

    March 10, 2009 at 11:04 pm

    Time for a haircut, girl! Even if you’re growing it out, it still helps for it to be shaped. And since it’s been about a year…that’s what I recommend!

    I use cheap shampoo too.

     
    • saturdayjane

      March 19, 2009 at 7:48 pm

      Haha, hello, WendyB! I see you everywhere on the internet! I’m quite flattered you’re commenting here! 😀

      Haircut seems to be a general consensus. I think I’m going to go following Spring Break. 🙂

       
  4. Laura

    March 11, 2009 at 1:57 am

    I used to use that VO5 stuff, or Herbal Essences, but I don’t know where those fall on the price spectrum.

    I’m beginning to feel like I need a haircut too. It hasn’t been all that long, but it’s feeling a little awkward.

     
  5. Brittney

    March 12, 2009 at 3:28 am

    You might want to try some VO5 or Herbal Essences shampoo, and try and find stuff that is NOT labelled for “dry hair” or “moisturizes” since I don’t think you really need that.

    I use the cheap stuff too, and honestly think that it’s just the general haircut and styling that you do that maintains it, but I’ve been told I’m a freak and have easy hair, so… yeah.

     
  6. Mellissa Forget

    March 12, 2009 at 3:29 am

    I use this stuff and it smells great: http://www.live-clean.com/index2.swf Plus, it’s vegan!
    I too am also growing my hair out. I’ve pretty much come to grips with the fact that I just hate it at any length. I does this weird, thin and straight on top, poofy on the bottom thing that makes me look like a medieval squire or page boy.
    Time for a haircut.

     
    • saturdayjane

      March 12, 2009 at 4:30 am

      Woohoo, environmentally sound shampoos! And available at Walmart (a bit ironic, but okeydokey). I’ll have to check out the prices there, I couldn’t find it on the website. I’m always okay with having lovely organic products.

       
  7. Amanda

    March 15, 2009 at 6:03 am

    Pert Plus man. 2-in-1, fairly cheap. Also, no meth.

     
    • saturdayjane

      March 16, 2009 at 2:26 am

      YAY NO METH

      This is one of my qualifiers for most parts of my life.

       
  8. Asa

    March 15, 2009 at 8:08 pm

    Personally when forced to give up on Suave I fell back on my mom’s personal favorite: Aussie. I chose Aussie partly because it is amazing but mostly because it comes in a shiny purple bottle with kangaroos on it. And you might want to think about conditioner, you don’t have to use it every day and it makes quite a difference. Aussie has a 3-minute-miracle which is amazing!

    PS You are amazing too!

     
    • saturdayjane

      March 16, 2009 at 2:25 am

      Three minute miracle, you say? That sounds DELECTABLE. With my busy schedule, I don’t have time for any miracles that take longer than that. 🙂

      I do use conditioner once every three days or so…possibly I should be switching it up? Or down. I’ll be frank, I have no idea what I’m doing.

      I seem to remember thinking Aussie was totally rad when I was a kid, and not because we ever got it. Maybe my cousins used it? Or some nonsense like that? Now, though, I’m sorely tempted. I splurged on a hefty bottle of Treseme (ooh la la!) but maybe I’ll spring for the Aussie next.

      Heh.

      Spring.

      Because it has a kangaroo on it.

      PS: Thank you so much! You made my day! 😀

       
  9. sarah

    March 16, 2009 at 4:33 pm

    for a long time i bought “bumble and bumble” shampoo, which was good, but real expensive. after that, i used “devacurl” for a long time, which is good/interesting – it’s not actually soap, you just put it in your hair and rub it in and it cleans it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
